Community Movers

Group photo of students who participated in the 2016 Diversity Workshop
2016 Diversity Workshop

About Us

Founded in 2015, Community Movers is a 13-member board of representatives for students of the Department of Dance. The board is comprised of undergraduate and graduate students, with one staff and one faculty advisor. The purpose of this honorary organization is to support the student body within the dance department academically and creatively; provide guidance and motivation through peer mentorship; encourage students throughout the academic school year with socials; create a non-judgmental space for students to feel acknowledged, respected, and encouraged; and provide opportunities for dance students to emerge as leaders within the community. 

For information about Community Movers, please contact


  • Fall Dance Retreat Co-sponsored with the Office of Diversity, Inclusion, and Outreach and the Department of Dance
  • Final Showing Refreshment Table
  • Holiday Harvest Hot Cocoa Bar
  • Open Mic Nights
  • Dance Family Potluck
  • Dance Career Day Employer Panel and Mock Interviews Co-sponsored with TWU's Career Connections Center
  • Wellness Fridays
  • National Honor Society for Dance Arts Induction Ceremony
  • Spring Awards Ceremony Co-sponsored with the Department of Dance

Current Board of Representatives

Co-Facilitators: Jessica Murphy & Cylene Walker-Willis
Secretary: Miriam Bolles
Treasurer: Emily Sese
Historians: Yeajean Choi & Taryn McDaniel
Event Coordinators: Martheya Nygaard, Hailey Regenbrecht, & Briyona Whitley
Undergraduate Representatives: Ariel Lewis, Shacarey Martin, Stephanie Martinez, & Ashton Wyatt
Graduate Representatives: Azaria Hogans & Ashlea Sovetts
Advisers: Dr. Matthew Henley & Westin Portillo