2013 - Patricia and Curtis W. Meadows

A man and a woman smiling.

Patricia and Curtis Meadows have been named the recipients of the 11th Annual Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award, presented by Bank of Texas, Texas Woman’s University, and the Texas Woman’s University Foundation.  The announcement was made at a private reception in the home of Myrna and Bob Schlegel on September 18.  Texas Woman’s University Chancellor and President Dr. Ann Stuart will present the award at the Virginia Chandler Dykes luncheon event Feb. 21, 2013, 11 a.m. to 1:30 p.m., at the Belo Mansion and Pavilion, 2101 Ross Ave.  

“Texas Woman’s University is so pleased to honor two such distinguished individuals, whose combined commitments to business, philanthropy, arts and education have improved the lives of others, making a lasting impact on this community and beyond,” said TWU Chancellor and President Dr. Ann Stuart.  “This well-known Dallas couple has held numerous leadership roles and participated in countless volunteer efforts with community organizations and charitable causes, ensuring their continued excellence for years to come.”

"We are privileged to live in a region where citizens, schools, and businesses strive for excellence and work together to make life better for all of us, and we are honored to receive this prestigious recognition for our participation in this effort,” said Patricia and Curtis Meadows.

Through lifelong service and contributions in the areas of business, philanthropy, arts and education, Patricia and Curtis Meadows have demonstrated outstanding commitment to improving the lives of others in the Dallas community and beyond.

Patricia Meadows has served the Dallas community in many capacities including consultant, civic appointee, organization volunteer and board member, but she is best known as an advocate for the visual arts.  She co-founded D’Art (Dallas Visual Arts Center) and the Emergency Artists Support League (EASL); served as president, chair, and member of local and national arts boards and committees; and is an active civic leader.  She has juried hundreds of exhibitions throughout Texas and organized solo and group shows for individual artists, art associations and museums.  Through her company Arts Connections, she serves as consultant to corporate and private collectors.  She was appointed by Governor Ann Richards and Dallas mayors to leadership positions for the city and state and is a graduate of Leadership Texas.  She is an active member of the Dallas Assembly, the Dallas Summit, the Charter 100, many local and national art organizations and currently serves on the Uptown Public Improvement Board of Directors.  Patricia has been honored with the Savor Dallas Arts Leaders Award; 100 Women 100 Years Award, YMCA of Metropolitan Dallas; Legend Award, Dallas Visual Arts Center; Excellence Award in Arts Leadership, Dallas Historical Society; Distinguished Women Award, Northwood University; Maura Award, Women’s Center of Dallas; James K. Wilson Award, TACA; and the Flora Award.

Engaged in law practice for many years, Curtis Meadows currently serves Of Counsel to Thompson & Knight, LLP. As president of The Meadows Foundation for 18 years, he oversaw the distribution of over $270 million in gifts/grants throughout Texas and was selected as Distinguished Grantmaker of the Year by the National Council on Foundations. Additionally, during his tenure, the foundation was named Outstanding Foundation in the U.S. by the National Society of Fund-Raising Executives.  A faculty member of the LBJ School of Public Affairs in Austin, Curtis was founding director of the school’s RGK Center for Philanthropy and Community Service, establishing a university-wide program in philanthropic and nonprofit studies.  He has held leadership roles in over 60 charitable, religious, and philanthropic organizations.  He was elected Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and received the Dallas Historical Society’s Award for Excellence in Philanthropy; the TACA award for support of the arts in Dallas; SMU Maguire Center’s Jonsson Award for Ethics and Public Virtue; Texas Historical Commission’s Lifetime Achievement Award for historic preservation; Volunteer of the Year Award from Volunteers of America; and Father of the Year Award in Dallas.  Additionally, he received the Distinguished Alumnus Award of the University of Texas in Austin, where he and Patricia are alumni.

Page last updated 2:35 PM, March 7, 2017