Compliance Policies

The Office of Undergraduate Studies and Academic Partnerships manages compliance for the following rules, laws, and university policies:

Excess Hours Policy

Excess Credit Hours and Nonresident Tuition for Resident Students. To avoid being charged extra tuition, resident students should be aware of the number of credit hours required for their degree and avoid taking more than 30 hours (or 45 hours for first enrollment at a Texas public institution prior to Fall 2006) above the program requirement. By state law, extra tuition will be charged to any resident undergraduate student who, before the semester or other academic session begins, has previously attempted a number of semester credit hours at any institution of higher education while classified as a resident student for tuition purposes that exceeds by at least 30 hours (or 45 hours for first enrollment at a Texas public institution prior to Fall 2006) the number of semester credit hours required for completion of the degree program in which the student is enrolled (Texas State Education Code Subchapter C, Section 61.0595). This regulation does NOT apply to semester credit hours earned before the 1999 fall semester.

  1. To avoid being charged extra tuition, resident students should be aware of the number of credit hours required for their degree and avoid taking more than 30 hours (or 45 hours for first enrollment at a Texas public institution prior to Fall 2006) above the program requirement. By state law, extra tuition will be charged to any resident undergraduate student who, before the semester or other academic session begins, has previously attempted a number of semester credit hours at any institution of higher education while classified as a resident student for tuition purposes that exceeds by at least 30 hours (or 45 hours for first enrollment at a Texas public institution prior to Fall 2006) the number of semester credit hours required for completion of the degree program in which the student is enrolled (Subchapter C, Section 61.0595). This regulation does NOT apply to semester credit hours earned before the 1999 fall semester. Effective Fall 2009 hours earned by a student before graduating from high school and used to satisfy high school graduation requirements (dual credit) are NOT included in the calculation of excess hours.
  2. For a student enrolled in a baccalaureate program under Section 51.931, semester credit hours earned by the student 10 or more years before the date the student begins the new degree program under Section 51.931 are not counted for purposes of determining whether the student has previously earned excess undergraduate semester credit hours.
  3. The following are not counted for purposes of determining whether the undergraduate student has previously earned excess semester credit hours:
    • Semester credit hours earned by the student before receiving a baccalaureate degree that has previously been awarded to the student;
    • Semester credit hours earned by the student by examination or under any other procedure by which credit is earned without registering for a course for which tuition is charged;
    • Credit for a remedial education course or another course that does not count toward a degree program at the institution; and
    • Semester credit hours earned by the student at a private institution or an out-of-state institution.

I have been notified about my hours limit—what now?

  1. Complete an Authorization for Release of Excess Hours Information. The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board does not provide TWU with your total hours attempted at all Texas Public higher education institutions. You'll need to complete the audit request form to receive this total.
  2. Fax the completed form to the Office of Undergraduate Studies at 940-898-3001 or you may scan and email it to undergraduate_studies@twu.edu.
  3. Upon receipt of your audit results, make an appointment with your academic advisor.
  4. Share your TOTAL SCH with your advisor so that she or he can assist you in creating a plan for degree completion, considering your current SCH and total allowable SCH.

Note: If you are a double major, be sure to notify your advisor and the Registrar's Office. Your minimum hours to complete your degree will be adjusted.

Additionally, Financial Aid has a separate hour limit for funded hours. Please contact Financial Aid directly if you receive notification from them.

Page last updated 10:11 AM, November 14, 2017