skip to content

Three TWU students competing in the Miss Texas 2015 Scholarship Pageant


Christina Clawson photo    Chandler Foreman photo 
Christina Clawson              Chandler Foreman 
  Kianna Hernandez picture
   Kianna Hernandez

 Photo Credit: Mike Krause, bludoor studios

DENTON/RICHARDSON — Three Texas Woman’s University students are contestants in the Miss Texas 2015 Scholarship Pageant, which is being held this week (June 30-July 4) at the Eisemann Center in Richardson.

Christina Clawson of Frisco, a first-year transfer student from Collin College majoring in music, is Miss North Texas and her talent is electric violin. Chandler Foreman, an incoming first-year student majoring in music, is Miss Sugar Land and her talent is flute. Kianna Hernandez of Dallas, an incoming first-year student majoring in nursing, is Miss Townview Dallas and her talent is piano.

Clawson, Foreman and Hernandez are among the 55 women competing in this pageant. The final crowning of Miss Texas 2015 will take place at 7:30 p.m. Sat., July 4 at the Eisemann Center. Tickets are available online at The event also will be live streamed at, where voting for fan favorite is available, and broadcast on the NBC Cozi cable channel July 11.

The Miss Texas organization, affiliated with the Miss America Pageant, provides personal and professional opportunities for young Texas women and promotes their voice in culture, politics and community. The competition was founded in 1936 by individuals seeking to provide higher education opportunities for women. The Miss America Organization is the largest donor of scholarship assistance for young women.

TWU has a long history of having students compete in the pageant, and alumnae have won both the Miss Texas title, including Ivana Hall in 2013, and the Miss America title, including Shirley Cothran Barret, Ph.D. in 1975.

Miss Texas 2015 will receive a $10,000 cash scholarship and will compete in September’s Miss America Competition in Atlantic City.


Media Contact:

Amanda Simpson
Director of Media Relations

page updated 5/9/2016 4:57 PM