skip to content

TWU to recognize faculty, staff and students during Honors Convocation April 16, 2015

DENTON— Texas Woman’s University will honor faculty, staff and students in a celebration of excellence during Honors Convocation scheduled Thursday, April 16. The ceremony begins a 10 a.m. in the Margo Jones Performance Hall, located at Oakland and Sawyer streets on TWU’s Denton campus.

TWU faculty receiving recognition are:

Dr. Anne Simpson, professor of reading and director of the Reading Recovery program at TWU — the Cornaro Award;
Dr. Fuqin Liu, assistant professor of nursing, Denton campus, and Dr. Graham Scott, assistant professor of English — Mary Mason Lyon Award;
Dr. Mahesh Raisinghani, associate professor, TWU School of Management — Distinction in Distance Education;
Dr. AnaLouise Keating, professor of women’s studies, and Dr. Holly Hansen-Thomas, associate professor of teacher education — Distinction in Scholarship;
Dr. Ludovic Sourdot, assistant professor of teacher education — Distinction in Service;
Dr. Rebecca Fredrickson, assistant professor of teacher education — Distinction in Teaching;
Dr. Alfred Guy Litton, associate professor of English and executive director of TWU honors programs — the Humphries Award;
Dr. Gina Anderson, associate professor of teacher education — the Innovation in Academia award.

TWU staff members receiving recognition are:

Mere Maddox, assistant director for student development and family services — TWU Award of Excellence;
Kathleen Hedges, assistant to the dean of the College of Professional Education, and Ashley Spinozzi, campus manager of the TWU T. Boone Pickens Institute of Health Sciences-Dallas Center — TWU Outstanding Achievement Awards.

Student excellence also will be recognized during the ceremony.

Recipients of the Graduate Council Awards for Exceptional Original Scholarship are:

Caroline Sutton Clark, doctoral candidate in dance, from Austin;
Jairus Reddy, doctoral candidate in molecular biology, from McKinney.

Outstanding TWU Students award recipients will be recognized during Honors Convocation. Their awards will be presented at the TWU Accolades Luncheon on Friday, April 17. These award recipients are:

Candace Henslee, a history and government major from Denton;
Dava Hernandez, majoring in dance with a graduate certificate in women’s studies, from San Antonio;
Jairus Reddy, a doctoral candidate in molecular biology, from McKinney.

Media Contact:

Karen Garcia
Senior Writer

page updated 5/9/2016 4:57 PM