skip to content

TWU Chancellor’s Alumni Excellence Award event scheduled Sept. 16


DENTON — Noted higher education leader and Texas Woman’s University alumna Dr. Deneese Jones, provost of Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa, will be honored during the Chancellor’s Alumni Excellence Award ceremony Monday, Sept. 16 on TWU’s Denton campus.

Dr. Jones will speak on “Preparing Women Leaders” and will receive the spring 2013 Chancellor’s Alumni Excellence Award from TWU Chancellor Dr. Ann Stuart at the event, which begins at 4:30 p.m. in room 203 of the Classroom Faculty Office (CFO) Building on TWU’s Denton campus. A reception will follow in the lobby of Stoddard Hall. For a map of the campus, visit

Dr. Jones is being honored for her distinguished career in higher education, where she has served as an academic and administrative leader for more than 20 years. As the provost of Drake University, she is the university’s chief academic leader and oversees more than 70 programs of study and approximately 270 full-time faculty members. Prior to being named provost of Drake University in 2012, Dr. Jones served as the dean of the College of Education and Human Services at Longwood University in Farmville, Va.

Dr. Jones also spent 15 years at the University of Kentucky in a variety of capacities, including: chair of the President’s Commission on Diversity, associate dean of the Graduate School - Recruitment and Diversity, director and co-founder of the Center for the Study of Academic Achievement in Learning Environments and associate professor in the College of Education's Curriculum and Instruction Department.

Her many career accolades include being chosen for the highly selective and prestigious American Council on Education (ACE) Fellow program, spending her fellowship at the University of Kansas. In addition, she is an alumna of the Senior Leadership Seminar of the Virginia Women Administrators in Higher Education and the Institute for Educational Management at the Harvard University Graduate School of Education.

Dr. Jones received her bachelor of science degree in elementary education from TWU in 1974. She also received both her master’s degree and Ph.D. in education from Texas A&M University.

In 2011, TWU Chancellor Ann Stuart donated $120,000 to fund a 20-year program to bring the recipients of the Chancellor’s Alumni Excellence Award to campus each year to share their experience and expertise with the TWU community.

Media Contact:

Amanda Simpson
Director of Media Relations

page updated 10/2/2014 10:58 AM