skip to content

TWU’s second Chancellor’s Alumni Excellence Award event scheduled Oct. 30


DENTON — Nationally known advocate for women in the sciences and Texas Woman’s University alumna Dr. Anngienetta Johnson will be honored during the second Chancellor’s Alumni Excellence Award ceremony Tuesday, Oct. 30 on TWU’s Denton campus.

Dr. Johnson will speak on “My Place in Space and My Climb to Get There” and will receive the second Chancellor’s Alumni Excellence Award from TWU Chancellor Dr. Ann Stuart. The ceremony begins with a reception at 5 p.m. in room 302 of the Multipurpose Classroom and Laboratory (MCL) Building, located on the corner of Bell Avenue and College Street on TWU’s Denton campus. For a map of the campus, visit

Dr. Johnson is being honored for her significant contributions to NASA, her advocacy for women in science and her volunteer work. During her 40-year career with NASA, Dr. Johnson’s duties included co-directing payload operations on four of the first six Shuttle flights, developing NASA’s engineering programs and improving the agency’s systems operations. She held several titles at NASA, including Special Assistant to the Associate Administrator for Safety and Security, Assistant Associate Administrator for Education and Assistant Chief Engineer. She retired as NASA’s Senior Advisor for Safety and Mission Assurance in 2009.

Dr. Johnson is recognized for being a champion for women in the sciences throughout her career and is a co-author of a chapter in the book “Success Strategies for Women in Science.”

She also is a dedicated volunteer for the Red Cross, managing operations for disaster relief, working with disaster victims and recruiting and training volunteers. In recognition of her work, President George W. Bush and his President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation awarded her with a national Volunteer Service Award in 2004.

Dr. Johnson received her bachelor’s degree in mathematics from TWU in 1971.

In conjunction with the establishment of the award, Chancellor Stuart has given $120,000 to establish the Ann Stuart Fund to Underwrite the Chancellor’s Alumni Excellence Award. Chancellor Stuart’s gift will fund a 20-year program designed to bring the recipient of the TWU Chancellor’s Alumni Excellence Award to campus to share his or her experience and expertise with the university community. The TWU academic department from which the recipient graduated will organize the TWU Chancellor’s Alumni Excellence Award event, which will continue annually through 2032.

Media Contact:

Amanda Simpson
Director of Media Relations

page updated 10/2/2014 10:59 AM