Faculty & Staff

Denton Faculty Members

K. Shane Broughton, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
OMB 307
940-898-2637
kbroughton@twu.edu
Research interests: Omega-3 fatty acids and immune regulation impact on polycystic ovarian syndrome (PCOS) and ovulation, and asthma and asthma diagnostics

Kathleen Davis, Ph.D., RDN, CSP, LD
Assistant Professor
OMB 301
940-898-2651
kdavis10@twu.edu
Research interests: Pediatric obesity prevention and weight management; pediatric developmental disorders and nutritional intervention

Nancy DiMarco, Ph.D., RDN, CSSD, LD
Professor
HDB 013
940-898-2785
ndimarco@twu.edu
Research interests: Nutrition intake and bone density

Xiaofen Du, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
OMB 301
940-898-2667
xdu@twu.edu 
Research Interests: Flavor chemistry and sensory evaluation of various fresh and processed foods and beverages; the relationship between food flavor, health benefits and nutritional values; and flavor reconstitution.

Helen Everts, Ph.D., RDN
Assistant Professor
OMB 301
940-898-2639
heverts@twu.edu
Research interests: Vitamin A metabolism and function, with an emphasis on skin cancer and hair loss diseases

Angela Griffin, M.S., RDN, LD
Assistant Clinical Professor and Culinology® Coordinator
OMB 311A
940-898-2658
agriffin3@twu.edu
Research interests: Nutrition education, dietetics education curriculum development, school nutrition, foodservice management and culinary science

Vicky Imrhan, Ph.D., RDN, LD
Professor
OMB 308A
940-898-2650
vimrhan@twu.edu
Research interests: Role of nutrition in preventing and treating chronic disorders, especially cancer and diabetes

Shanil Juma, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
OMB 308E
940-898-2704
sjuma@twu.edu
Research interests: The cause of age-related conditions such as osteoarthritis and osteoporosis and developing nutritional strategies to prevent and manage them

Dolores Kearney, M.P.H., RDN, LD
Associate Clinical Professor and Didactic Program in Dietetics (DPD) Director
OMB 313B
940-898-2641
dkearney1@twu.edu
Research interests: Nutrition education, dietetics education curriculum development, foodservice management and culinary science

Monique LeMieux, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
OMB 314
940-898-2712
mlemieux@twu.edu
Research interests: Adipose tissue biology and its role in obesity-induced inflammation and PCOS; use of bio-actives as nutritional interventions for these conditions

Chandan Prasad, Ph.D.
Professor
OMB 314
940-898-2636
cprasad@twu.edu
Research interests: Obesity and related metabolic disorders; fat cell and adipokines biology; role of botanicals and functional foods on obesity and adipobiology

Martha Rew, M.S., RDN, LD
Associate Clinical Professor and Dietetic Internship Director - Denton
OMB 308B
940-898-2657
mrew@twu.edu
Research interests: Medical nutrition therapy, nutrition education, dietetics education issues and obesity/weight management

Keri Stoner-Davis, M.S., RDN, LD
Visiting Assistant Clinical Professor
OMB 314
940-898-2645
kstonerdavis@twu.edu

Parakat Vijayagopal, Ph.D.
Professor
OMB 308D
940-898-2709
pvijayagopal@twu.edu
Research interests: Role of plasma lipoproteins and arterial wall proteoglycans in the pathophysiology of atherosclerosis, anti-obesity compounds and metabolic syndrome athophysiology

Cynthia Warren, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
OMB 313A
940-898-2647
cwarren2@twu.edu
Research interests: Interface between public health and the food industry; nutrition and food safety literacy.

Houston Faculty Members

Rose Bush, M.S., RDN, LD
Associate Clinical Professor
Houston Center 7118
713-794-2376
rbush@twu.edu
Research interests: Leadership, curriculum issues and management practice in dietetics

Mindy Maziarz, Ph.D., RDN, LD
Assistant Professor
Houston Center 7023
713-794-2375
mmaziarz@twu.edu
Research interests: The impact of nutrient intake on gut-derived satiety mediators, adipokines and body composition

Carolyn Moore, Ph.D., RDN, LD
Associate Professor
Houston Center 7017
713-794-2377
cmoore8@twu.edu
Research interests: Vitamin D, functional ingredients, clinical practice and cardiovascular disease

Karen Moreland, M.S., RDN, LD
Associate Clinical Professor and Dietetic Internship Director- Houston
Houston Center 7021
713-794-2344
kstone@twu.edu
Research interests: Clinical nutrition, professional issues and educational modules

Staff

Estée Easley
Administrative Assistant to the Chair
Denton Campus - OMB 308
940-898-2637
eeasley@twu.edu

Marcella Ettinger
Secretary
Denton Campus - OMB 307
940-898-2710
mettinger@twu.edu

Laura Huntsberry
Senior Secretary
Houston Center 7019
713-794-2371
jhuntsberry@twu.edu

Sherry Vanatta
Undergraduate Advisor
Denton Campus - OMB 312
940-898-2468
svanatta@twu.edu