News and Announcements

The History & Government Department would like to congratulate:

  • Associate Professor of History Kate Landdeck, Ph.D., who was featured on the History Channel's Pearl Harbor special on Dec. 7, 2017. Landdeck provided commentary regarding WAFS/WASP Cornelia Fort, who was in the air with a student on the day of the attack.
  • Assistant Professor of Government Clare Brock, Ph.D., who was quoted in the Denton Record Chronicle story, "Professors explain roles state senators play in Texas."
  • Associate Professor of History Kate Landdeck, Ph.D., who was quoted in an Associated Press story about the 20th anniversary of the Women in Military Service for America Memorial in Washington, D.C. This story was picked up by several national publications, including the Washington Post and Chicago Tribune.
  • Department Chair Jonathan Olsen, Ph.D., who participated as a panelist and moderator for the Georgetown University event, "The 2017 Bundestag Election and its Consequences." The panel was hosted by the university's BMW Center for European and German Studies, and it took place on Tuesday, Oct. 3, 2017.
  • Assistant Professor of Government Parker Hevron, Ph.D., alongside University of Southern California Political Science Professor Jeb Barnes, Ph.D., for receiving a grant to help fund their research on mass media coverage of injury compensation policies. The grant, totaling to $219,734, was awarded by the law and social sciences division of the National Science Foundation.
  • The Eta Nu Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta for receiving — for the third year in a row — the Gerald Nash Award for Ibid. A Student Journal Volume 9. The award recognizes Ibid. as the best online student history journal in the United States. The chapter was also named the 2016 "Best Chapter in the United States" by the national office Phi Alpha Theta.
  • Kate Landdeck, Ph.D., for her contribution to a Fox News article covering the army’s refusal to bury the ashes of former World War II female pilots at the Arlington National Cemetery.
  • Professor of History Paul Travis, Ph.D., for winning TWU’s 2016 Distinction in Teaching award.
  • Professor of History Lybeth Hodges, Ph.D., for winning TWUs 2016 Humphries award.
  • Department Chair Jonathan Olsen, Ph.D., for his recent interview with KCBS San Francisco covering the current tensions between Turkey, the Netherlands and Germany.
  • Professor of Government Timothy K. Hoye, Ph.D., for the publication of his papers: Political Conceptualization in Japanese: Natsume Soseki's Late Works and Integral Liberalism: John H. Hallowell and the 20th Century for the for the Southern Political Science Association (SPSA) annual convention.
  • Associate Professor of History Sara Fanning, Ph.D., for her recent book publication Caribbean Crossing: African Americans and the Emigration Project by NYU Press.
  • Department Chair Jonathan Olsen, Ph.D., for the newest edition publication of his textbook, European Union: Politics and Policies.

Women in politics focus of TWU’s second annual Jamison Lecture March 29

Three national experts on women in politics spoke at TWU’s second annual Jamison Lecture on March 29, 2017. The lecture, which is funded by former TWU History & Government chair and former Texas state legislator Alonzo Jamison’s estate, is hosted through the Department of History & Government annually.