Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Jamie Barker, Ph.D.

Senior Visiting Lecturer
Ph.D., Indiana University Pennsylvania
Office: CFO 914
Phone: 940.898.2348

Ashley Bender, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of English; B.A. in English Program Coordinator
Ph.D., University of North Texas
Office: CFO 801
Phone: 940.898.2334
Email: abender@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Literature of the long eighteenth century, especially drama; Shakespeare in the eighteenth century; sex and gender in the eighteenth century; textual studies; service learning in the composition classroom; experiential education and multimodal pedagogy

Will Benner, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Spanish; Spanish Minor Advisor
Ph.D., Tulane University
Office: CFO 910
Phone: 940.898.2316
Email: wbenner@twu.edu

Current Research Interests: Memory politics, human rights activism, and women's studies in the Southern Cone          

Phyllis Bridges, Ph.D.

Professor of English
Ph.D., Texas Tech University
Office: CFO 806
Phone: 940.898.2345
Email: pbridges@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Shakespeare, Milton, Folklore, American Literature

Matthew Brown, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of English
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Office: CFO 901
Phone: 940.898.2371
Email: mbrown39@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Medieval Literature, Literary Theory, History of the English Language

Hugh Burns, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Email: hburns@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Rhetoric, Computers and Writing, Digital Humanities

Gretchen Busl, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of English; Graduate Program Coordinator
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Office: CFO 912
Phone: 940.898.2331
Email: gbusl@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: World Literature, Adaptation, Translation, Multilingualism, Graduate Student Writing

Vivian Casper, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of English
Ph.D., Rice University
Office: CFO 808
Phone: 940.898.2344
Email: vcasper@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Eugene O'Neill, Arthur Miller, Modern Drama

Brian Fehler, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of English; M.A. and Ph.D. Program Advisor
Ph.D., Texas Christian University
Office: CFO 913
Phone: 940.898.2220
Email: bfehler@twu.edu

Current Research Interests: History of rhetoric, religious rhetorics, American literature (colonial through long nineteenth century)

Russell Greer headshot

Russell Greer, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of English
Ph.D., University of Georgia
Office: CFO 908
Phone: 940.898.2347
Email: rgreer@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Thomas Hardy, Anthony Trollope

Jacquelyn Hoermann-Elliott, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer, Assistant Director of First Year Composition
Ph.D., Texas Christian University
Office: CFO 902
Phone: 940.898.2348

Dundee Lackey, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of English
Ph.D., Michigan State University
Office: CFO 911
Phone: 940.898.2159
Email: dlackey@twu.edu 
Current Research Interests: Digital/Community Rhetorics and Literacies

Liam Lanigan, Ph.D. 

Visiting Assistant Professor of English
Ph.D., James Joyce Research Centre and the Department of English at University College Dublin
Office: CFO 914
Phone: 940-898-2150
Email: llanigan@twu.edu 

Guy Litton, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of English; Director of Honors Program
Ph.D., University of South Carolina
Office: SH 104
Phone: 940.898.2337
Email: ALitton@twu.edu

Current Research Interests: 19th-Century American Literature, Emerson, Composition and Rhetoric

Katie McWain, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Director of First Year Composition
Ph.D., University of Nebraska Lincoln
Office: CFO 130
Phone: 940.898.2338

Graham (Gray) Scott, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of English; Assistant Director of Academic Assessment
Ph.D., University of California, Riverside
Office: CFO 804
Phone: 940.898.2327
Email: grayscott@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Assessment (methodology, applying assessment to program questions, contingent faculty involvement in assessment), academic dishonesty and honor code impacts on learning.

Stephen Souris, Ph.D.

Professor of English
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin - Madison
Office: CFO 903 
Phone: 940.898.2343
Email: ssouris@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: 19th and 20th-Century American Literature, Multicultural Literature, Bakhtin, Literary Theory, Multiple Narrator Novel

Lou Thompson, Ph.D.

Professor of English
Ph.D., Texas Christian University
Office: CFO 908
Phone: 940.898.2347
Email: Lthompson2@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Documentary film, creative writing (fiction), disability studies, visual rhetoric

Genevieve West, Ph.D.

Professor of English and Chair
Ph.D., Florida State University
Office: CFO 906
Phone: 940.898.2324
Email: GWest@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Zora Neale Hurston, Marita Bonner, the Harlem Renaissance, American women writers, Neo-slave Narratives, and reception theory


Adjunct Faculty and Graduate Teaching Assistants 

Kimberly Allison

Graduate Teaching Assistant 
CFO 128 
Kallison2@twu.edu 

Michael Cerliano

Adjunct Instructor
CFO 1114
940.898.2410
mcerliano@twu.edu 

Marcella Clinard

Graduate Teaching Assistant 
CFO 128 
mclinard@twu.edu

Chera Cole, Ph.D.

Adjunct Instructor
Ph.D., University of St. Andrews
CFO 807A
940.898.2125
ccole8@twu.edu 

Gregory Coleman

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Guyer High School
gcoleman@dentonisd.org

Justin Cook

Graduate Teaching Assistant
CFO 129
940.898.2254
jcook9@twu.edu

Elizabeth Cozby

Graduate Teaching Assistant
CFO 129
940.898.2254 
ecozby@twu.edu 

Darby Dyer-Morris

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Denton High School
ddyer@dentonisd.org or ddyer1@twu.edu

Timothy Mark Ellis

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Guyer High School
mellis@dentonisd.org

James "Mike" Fraley

Graduate Teaching Assistant
CFO 128
940.898.2254
jfraley@twu.edu 

Amy Griswold

Adjunct Instructor
CFO 129
940.898.2253
agriswold@twu.edu

Monika Grzesiak 

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Founder Classical Academy
Room 212
mgrzesiak@twu.edu  
469-464-3415

Carolyn Harrod

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Ryan HS
Room 270
charrod@twu.edu 
940-349-3294

Lynn Healy, Ph.D.

Adjunct Instructor, Spanish
CFO 807A
lhealy@twu.edu 
940-898-2125

Judith Hebb, Ph.D.

Adjunct Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Texas A&M University-Commerce
jhebb@twu.edu 

Georgia Helton

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Paradise High School
M.A., Texas Woman's University
ghelton@twu.edu 

Esther Houghtaling, Ph.D.

Adjunct Instructor
Ph.D., Texas Woman's University
Office: CFO 1114
940.898.2410
ehoughtaling@twu.edu 

Kathleen Irwin

Graduate Teaching Assistant
CFO 129
940.898.2254
kirwin@twu.edu 

Elizabeth Jendrzey

Graduate Teaching Assistant 
CFO 128
ejendrzey@twu.edu 

Nathan King

Adjunct Instructor
CFO 129
940.898.2254
nking4@twu.edu 

Lauri Krumm

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Richland High School
lauri.krumm@birdvilleschools.net

Minadora Macheret

Adjunct Instructor 
CFO 128
mmacheret@twu.edu 

Olga Mandujano

Adjunct Instructor, Spanish
CFO 807A
940.898.2125

Angela Mooney

Adjunct Instructor, Spanish 
CFO 807A
940.898.2125

Eric Mueller

Adjunct Instructor
M.A., University of North Texas
CFO 1114
940.898.2410
emueller2@twu.edu 

Amanda Oswalt

First-Year Composition Graduate Assistant
M.A., Texas Woman's University
CFO 128
940.898.2254
Red41811@twu.edu 

Keri Overall, Ph.D.

Adjunct Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of South Carolina
CFO 1114
940.898.2410
koverall@twu.edu 

Jason Parker

Graduate Teaching Assistant
CFO 128
940.898.2254
jparker20@twu.edu 

Selena Parker

Graduate Teaching Assistant
CFO 129 
Sparker19@twu.edu

Meredith Pasahow

Graduate Teaching Assistant 
CFO 128 
mpasahow@twu.edu

Jennifer Phillips-Denny, Ph.D.

Adjunct Instructor; Write Site Tutor Coordinator
Ph.D., University of North Texas
BHL 235
940.898.2118
jphillipsdenny@twu.edu 

Zane Porter

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
New Tech High School
Room 205
zporter@twu.edu 
214-496-5978

Rubén Rodríguez-Jiménez, Ph.D.

Adjunct Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Texas Tech University
rrodriguezjimenez@twu.edu 

Julie Seeley

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Denton High School
M.A., University of North Texas
jseeley@twu.edu 

Stacy Short

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Argyle High School
sshort@aisdapps.com

Christopher Works

Adjunct Instructor
M.A., Texas Woman's University
CFO 128
940.898.2254
cworks@twu.edu 

Sarah Zimmerman

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Braswell High School
szimmerman@twu.edu


Staff

Lisa Grimaldo

Administrative Assistant
Office: CFO 905 
Phone: 940.898.2326
Email: lgrimaldo@twu.edu 

Jaclyn Kliman

Senior Secretary
Office: CFO 131/BHL 235
Phone: 940-898-2323
Email: jkliman@twu.edu 

Page last updated 2:44 PM, November 13, 2018