Faculty and Staff

Jump to: Faculty | Adjunct Faculty and Graduate Teaching Assistants | Staff

Faculty

Ashley Bender, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of English; B.A. in English Program Coordinator
Ph.D., University of North Texas
Office: CFO 801
Phone: 940.898.2334
Email: abender@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Literature of the long eighteenth century, especially drama; Shakespeare in the eighteenth century; sex and gender in the eighteenth century; textual studies; service learning in the composition classroom; experiential education and multimodal pedagogy


Will Benner, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Spanish; Spanish Minor Adviser
Ph.D., Tulane University
Office: CFO 910
Phone: 940.898.2316
Email: wbenner@twu.edu

Current Research Interests: Memory politics, human rights activism, and women's studies in the Southern Cone          


Phyllis Bridges, Ph.D.

Professor of English
Ph.D., Texas Tech University
Office: CFO 806
Phone: 940.898.2345
Email: pbridges@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Shakespeare, Milton, Folklore, American Literature


Matthew Brown, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of English
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Office: CFO 901
Phone: 940.898.2371
Email: mbrown39@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Medieval Literature, Literary Theory, History of the English Language


Hugh Burns, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Email: hburns@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Rhetoric, Computers and Writing, Digital Humanities


Gretchen Busl, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of English; Director of First Year Composition
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Office: CFO 912
Phone: 940.898.2331
Email: gbusl@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: World Literature, Adaptation, Translation, Multilingualism, Graduate Student Writing


Vivian Casper, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of English
Ph.D., Rice University
Office: CFO 808
Phone: 940.898.2344
Email: vcasper@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Eugene O'Neill, Arthur Miller, Modern Drama


Sarah DeCapua, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor of English; Assistant Director of First-Year Composition
Ph.D., Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Office: CFO 130
Phone: 940.898.2338
Email: sdecapua@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: First-Year Composition, writing studies, feedback practices, corpus analysis, TESOL     


Brian Fehler, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of English
Ph.D., Texas Christian University
Office: CFO 913
Phone: 940.898.2220
Email: bfehler@twu.edu

Current Research Interests: History of rhetoric, religious rhetorics, American literature (colonial through long nineteenth century)


Russell Greer, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of English
Ph.D., University of Georgia
Office: CFO 902
Phone: 940.898.2348
Email: rgreer@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Thomas Hardy, Anthony Trollope


Dundee Lackey, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of English; M.A. in English Program Coordinator
Ph.D., Michigan State University
Office: CFO 911
Phone: 940.898.2159
Email: dlackey@twu.edu 
Current Research Interests: Digital/Community Rhetorics and Literacies


Guy Litton, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of English; Director of Honors Program
Ph.D., University of South Carolina
Office: SH 104
Phone: 940.898.2337
Email: ALitton@twu.edu

Current Research Interests: 19th-Century American Literature, Emerson, Composition and Rhetoric


Graham (Gray) Scott, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of English; Assistant Director of Academic Assessment
Ph.D., University of California, Riverside
Office: CFO 130
Phone: 940.898.2327
Email: gscott1@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Assessment (methodology, applying assessment to program questions, contingent faculty involvement in assessment), academic dishonesty and honor code impacts on learning.


Stephen Souris, Ph.D.

Professor of English
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin - Madison
Office: CFO 903 
Phone: 940.898.2343
Email: ssouris@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: 19th and 20th-Century American Literature, Multicultural Literature, Bakhtin, Literary Theory, Multiple Narrator Novel


Lou Thompson, Ph.D.

Professor of English; Ph.D. in Rhetoric Program Coordinator
Ph.D., Texas Christian University
Office: CFO 908
Phone: 940.898.2347
Email: Lthompson2@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Documentary film, creative writing (fiction), disability studies, visual rhetoric


Genevieve West, Ph.D.

Professor of English and Chair
Ph.D., Florida State University
Office: CFO 906
Phone: 940.898.2324
Email: GWest@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Zora Neale Hurston, Marita Bonner, the Harlem Renaissance, American women writers, Neo-slave Narratives, and reception theory


Adjunct Faculty and Graduate Teaching Assistants 

Trudie Byers, Ph.D.

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Richland Highschool
gbyers@twu.edu 

Michael Cerliano

Adjunct Instructor
CFO 1114
940.898.2410
mcerliano@twu.edu 

Chera Cole, Ph.D.

Adjunct Instructor
Ph.D., University of St. Andrews
CFO 1114
940.898.2410
ccole8@twu.edu 

Gregory Coleman

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Guyer High School
gcoleman@dentonisd.org

Justin Cook

Graduate Teaching Assistant
CFO 128
940.898.2254
jcook9@twu.edu

Elizabeth Cozby

Graduate Teaching Assistant
CFO 128
940.898.2254 
ecozby@twu.edu 

Jesse Dobson

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Argyle High School
Room 112
jdobson@twu.edu 

Holli Downs

Graduate Teaching Assistant
M.F.A., Emerson College
CFO 127
940.898.2253
hdowns@twu.edu 

Darby Dyer-Morris

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Denton High School
ddyer@dentonisd.org or ddyer1@twu.edu

Timothy Mark Ellis

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Guyer High School
mellis@dentonisd.org

Michael Fraley

Graduate Teaching Assistant
CFO 128
940.898.2254
jfraley@twu.edu 

Anna Genneken

Graduate Teaching Assistant
M.A., University of North Texas
CFO 915
940.898.2150
agenneken@twu.edu 

Amy Griswold

Adjunct Instructor
CFO 127
940.898.2253
agriswold@twu.edu

Monika Grzesiak 

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Founder Classical Academy
Room 212
mgrzesiak@twu.edu  
469-464-3415

Paul Guenzel

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Founders Classical Academy
Room 24
pguenzel@twu.edu 

Carolyn Harrod

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Ryan HS
Room 270
charrod@twu.edu 
940-349-3294

Georgia Headley

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Paradise High School
M.A., Texas Woman's University
gheadley@twu.edu 

Dr. Lynn Healy

CFO 914
lhealy@twu.edu 
940-898-2335

Judith Hebb, Ph.D.

Adjunct Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Texas A&M University-Commerce
CFO 807A
940.898.2125
jhebb@twu.edu 

Esther Houghtaling, Ph.D.

Adjunct Instructor
Ph.D., Texas Woman's University
Office: CFO 804
940.898.2338
ehoughtaling@twu.edu 

Kathleen Irwin

Graduate Teaching Assistant
CFO 128
940.898.2254
kirwin@twu.edu 

Cody Jackson

Graduate Teaching Assistant
CFO 128
cjackson25@twu.edu 
940-898-2254

Maureen Johnson

Graduate Teaching Assistant
M.A., Marshall University
CFO 128
940.898.2254
mjohnson51@twu.edu 

Donna Keen-Maxwell

Adjunct Instructor
CFO 128
940.898.2253
dmaxwell@twu.edu

Nathan King

Adjunct Instructor
CFO 128
940.898.2254
nking4@twu.edu 

Lauri Krumm

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Richland High School
lauri.krumm@birdvilleschools.net

Liam Lanigan

CFO 1114
llanigan@twu.edu 
940-898-2410

Natalie Malin

Graduate Teaching Assistant
M.A., Texas Tech University
CFO 127
940.898.2253
nmalin@twu.edu 

Eric Mueller

Adjunct Instructor
M.A., University of North Texas
CFO 915
940.898.2150
emueller2@twu.edu 

Amanda Oswalt

Graduate Teaching Assistant
M.A., Texas Woman's University
CFO 128
940.898.225  
Red41811@twu.edu 

Keri Overall, Ph.D.

Adjunct Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of South Carolina
CFO 807A
940.898.2125
koverall@twu.edu 

Jason Parker

Graduate Teaching Assistant
CFO 128
940.898.2254
jparker20@twu.edu 

Jennifer Phillips-Denny, Ph.D.

Adjunct Instructor; Write Site Tutor Coordinator
Ph.D., University of North Texas
BHL 235
940.898.2118
jphillipsdenny@twu.edu 

Justin Reese Pierce

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Haltom High School
jpierce@twu.edu

Zane Porter

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
New Tech High School
Room 205
zporter@twu.edu 
214-496-5978

Karen Reidy

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Ryan High School
M.A., Rice University  
kreidy@twu.edu 

Rachael Reynolds

FYC Program Graduate Assistant
M.A., Texas Woman's University
CFO 128
940.898.2254
rgeary@twu.edu 

Rubén Rodríguez-Jiménez, Ph.D.

Adjunct Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Texas Tech University
rrodriguezjimenez@twu.edu 

Edward "Ted" Royston

Graduate Teaching Assistant
CFO 128
940.898.2254
eroyston@twu.edu 

Julie Seeley

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Denton High School
M.A., University of North Texas
jseeley@twu.edu 

Stacy Short

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Argyle High School
sshort@aisdapps.com

Consuelo Wallace, Ph.D.

Adjunct Instructor
Ph.D., University of Texas at Arlington
CFO 910
940.898.2150
cwallace2@twu.edu 

Christopher Works

Adjunct Instructor
M.A., Texas Woman's University
CFO 804
940.898.2338
cworks@twu.edu 

Sarah Zimmerman

Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Braswell High School
szimmerman@twu.edu


Staff

Lisa Grimaldo

Administrative Assistant
Office: CFO 905 
Phone: 940.898.2326
Email: lgrimaldo@twu.edu 

Jaclyn Kliman

Senior Secretary
Office: CFO 131/BHL 235
Phone: 940-898-2323
Email: jkliman@twu.edu