Distance Venue

Earn your master’s degree close to home through this specialized distance-education program offered only at TWU.*

This program is open to students who commit to working in Texas public schools after graduation. Cohorts for this learning venue start every other summer.

When to Apply

Aug. 15 to Oct. 1, 2018 to begin coursework in Summer 2019.

You must attend an information session at your local Education Service Center (ESC) or via webinar in order to be considered for the program. Contact your local Education Service Center to reserve a seat for one of these sessions (see below for contacts for each ESC).

ESC information sessions dates:

  • Thursday, May 10, 2018, 4:30-7:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, May 30, 2018, 4:45-7:45 p.m.
  • Monday, June 18, 2018, 4:45-7:45 p.m.

Online information session webinar:

  • Monday, July 16, 2018, 3-6 p.m.
Register for a Webinar

If you don’t have an undergraduate degree in Communication Sciences or Speech-Language Pathology, you will also need to prior to beginning the graduate program. Submit your application by April 15 to join TWU’s leveling cohort this summer.

Education Service Center SLP Master's Program Contacts

scroll to see the full table

NameESCPhoneEmail
Todd Larson 1 956-984-6203 tlarson@esc1.net
Mari Garza 2 361-561-8539 maricela.garza@esc2.us
Kenda Matson 3 361-573-0731 kmatson@esc3.net 
Gayla Lutz 4 713-744-8138 gayla.lutz@esc4.net
Dr. Cindy Fussell 5 409-951-1730 cfussell@esc5.net
Catherine George 6 936-435-8400 cgeorge@esc6.net
Diana McBurnett 7 903-988-6909 dmcburnett@esc7.net
Janis McClure 8 903-575-2758 jmcclure@reg8.net
Amy Blackwell 9 940-397-8258 amy.blackwell@esc9.net
Karyn Kilroy 10 972-348-1572 karyn.kilroy@region10.org
Kathy Duniven 11 817-740-7583 kduniven@esc11.net
Chris Griffin 12 254-297-1163 cgriffin@esc12.net
Shirley Sanford 13 512-919-5375 shirley.sanford@esc13.txed.net 
Amber Davies 14 325-675-8636 adavies@esc14.net
Jam Page 15 325-658-6571 jam.page@esc15.net
Crissy McDaniel 16 806-677-5193 crissy.mcdaniel@esc16.net
Anna Phillips 17 806-281-5891 aphillips@esc17.net
Anne Whitley 18 432-567-3207 awhitley@esc18.net
Lou Ann Rosario 19 915-780-5353 lrosario@esc19.net
Evelyn Villarreal 20 210-370-5479 evelyn.villarreal@esc20.net

*Through a special partnership with the Texas Education Agency, Region 10 Education Service Center, and local education service centers and school districts across Texas

Why SLP Distance Learning at TWU?

  • Work as a school-based licensed speech-language pathology assistant while in the program
  • Attend classes at participating regional Education Service Centers across the state and through live interactive courses transmitted to your home computer
  • Complete clinical experiences with sponsoring school districts during the school year and at medical facilities during summers
  • Be part of a program with a 99 percent Praxis exam pass rate and 100 percent job placement rate for graduates

Program Requirements

This program takes seven semesters (61 credit hours), six of which include clinical experiences. (Out-of-field students may be required to take an additional clinic semester.) You must secure and maintain sponsorship from an approved educational entity throughout the program.

See the Graduate Catalog for more specifics on course requirements. You must pass a comprehensive exam prior to degree completion and graduation.

Upon completion of the program, you will be eligible to be licensed and certified to work in any setting. However, as a distance student, you must commit to working as an SLP in the schools for a period of time after graduation.

Pre-requisites

  • A bachelor’s degree in communication sciences or completion of pre-master’s leveling courses at TWU or another university. You may apply to the graduate program before these are completed as long as the degree or leveling courses will be completed before graduate coursework begins.
  • Completion of college-level coursework in the following four areas in compliance with ASHA's Standard IV-A (No communication sciences courses can count toward this requirement.)
    • Statistics (a stand-alone course in statistics is required; can be math statistics, psychology statistics, business statistics, etc.)
    • Biological science (biology, human anatomy, microbiology, etc.)
    • Physics or chemistry (must be chemistry or physics—not a physical science course)
    • Social or behavioral science (psychology, sociology, anthropology, public health, etc.)

TWU follows ASHA’s guideline for meeting this standard. For more information on what classes count toward this requirement, see ASHA’s Course Content Guide.

  • A minimum 3.0 GPA for the last 60 hours of college coursework. (The average GPA of incoming students in our program is 3.6.)
  • An official GRE score submitted by the application deadline. No minimum scores are required but scores should be competitive. (The average GRE score for incoming students is 150 for the verbal and quantitative sections and 3.75 for writing.)

Additional Program Requirements

  • Immunizations: You must submit documentation showing all required immunizations are current to Student Health Services at TWU. Immunizations must also remain current throughout enrollment. Without immunizations, you will not be able to participate in required externships, clinical rotations or client interactions on campus.
  • Background check: Before any clinical experience, a background check is required and provided by TWU upon entrance to the program with instructions provided during clinic orientation. Some externships require additional background checks that are your responsibility to complete at your expense.
  • Drug screening: Some externships require students to submit to drug screens. Drug screening is done through a designated third party at the student's expense. Any student with a non-negative drug screen result or who refuses the test will be dismissed from the SLP master's program. 
  • Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Training (CPR): Basic Life Support (BLS) for Healthcare Providers from the American Heart Association is required of all students in clinical rotations. Instructions for completing this requirement are provided after program admission and done at the student's expense.
  • Health insurance: Many practicum sites require you to have health insurance and documentation must be provided to the clinical site

How To Apply

scroll to see the full table

Applications will be accepted in Fall 2018 for our next cycle (Cycle 10).

TimelineActivity
Spring/Summer 2018 Information sessions held. Attendance is MANDATORY.
Oct. 1, 2018 Applications due.
Summer 2019 Classes begin.
  1. Take the GRE and send your scores to TWU (institution code 6826).
  2. Attend a mandatory information session and apply to the program using the application packet provided at the session.
  3. Apply to TWU. Note: ApplyTexas will be available after Aug. 15, 2018 for summer 2019 admission.
  4. Submit the following to the department:
    1. Department information form (provided at the information session)
    2. One-page personal letter of intent describing your professional goals and reasons for attending TWU
    3. Three recommendations from individuals knowledgeable about your professional or academic abilities to successfully complete the graduate program
    4. Additional forms provided in the application packet

For More Information

Sue Colton
Distance Education Secretary
940-898-2042
FAX: 940-898-2070
scolton@twu.edu

Page last updated 11:03 AM, May 17, 2018