Update Logo





THE NEXT TWO WEEKS AT TWU: Jan. 12-25, 2004


Volume 26, Number 9, Jan. 12-25, 2004


Gov. Rick Perry has appointed Dr. William H. Fleming III of Houston to the TWU Board of Regents for a term to expire February 1, 2009.

Dr. Fleming, a former captain in the United States Air Force, serves as a neurologist with the Memorial Neurological Association in Houston.

Dr. Fleming is a member of the National Board of Medical Examiners, the American and Texas Medical Associations, and the American Academy of Neurology. Dr. Fleming also is a past president of the Federation of State Medical Boards, the Texas Neurological Society, the Harris County Medical Society and Texas Board of Medical Examiners.

Dr. Fleming received a B.A. in zoology from the University of Kansas and his M.D. from St. Louis School of Medicine and completed his residency at the Mayo Clinic and Mayo Graduate School of Medicine in Rochester, Minn.

*** *** ***


Geraldine “Tincy” Miller is the 2004 recipient of the Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award, presented by TWU and the TWU School of Occupational Therapy. Chancellor Dr. Ann Stuart will present the award during a Jan. 23 luncheon.

The education of Texans has always been a chief priority for Mrs. Miller. She spent nearly a decade teaching in the reading laboratory of the Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Crippled Children and in the Highland Park Presbyterian Hillier School for Dyslexia. For the past 19 years she has served on the Texas State Board of Education, representing Rockwall County and parts of Collin and Dallas counties.

Mrs. Miller is a past president and serves on the board of L.I.F.T. (Literacy Instruction for Texas), a non-profit organization providing literacy instruction to adults. She is the founding chair for the Baylor Health Care System Foundation’s Annual Giving Campaign, which raised more than $250,000 in its inaugural year.

Mrs. Miller also is a member of Phi Delta Kappa (the professional association for educators), Kappa Delta Pi (the international honor society in education), the International Reading Association and the Academic Language Therapist Association.

She is active in the Dallas community, chairing major fund-raising events for the United Cerebral Palsy Association, Dallas Opera, the Dallas Symphony Orchestra, TACA, the umbrella organization for the performing arts in Dallas, and the Crystal Charity Ball, a non-profit organization that raised a record-setting $3 million for underprivileged children in Dallas County in 1997. She also served on the boards for the “I Have A Dream” Foundation, National Orton-Dyslexia Society, the Boys and Girls Club of Greater Dallas and the Dallas County Heritage Society.

Mrs. Miller received the 1999 Tom Landry Award of Excellence in Volunteerism from United Cerebral Palsy. She also received the 1995 Dallas Historical Society Hall of State Award for Civic Involvement and in 1975 was Theta of the Year for Service in the Community for Kappa Alpha Theta sorority. In November 2003 she was named as a recipient of Northwood University's Distinguished Women awards.

Mrs. Miller also is a licensed real estate broker and vice chairman of Henry S. Miller Companies in Dallas. She and her husband, Vance, are the parents of four children.

The Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award was established in 2002 and is given annually to a Dallas resident who represents the caring, commitment and leadership Mrs. Dykes exemplifies.

As a health care provider and through her civic activities, Mrs. Dykes has spent a lifetime committed to helping others. Nationally and internationally she’s known for her work in occupational therapy. Locally, she’s known for her leadership in such organizations as the Dallas Opera, Dallas Arboretum and Dallas-Fort Worth Ballet.

Mrs. Dykes completed the graduate occupational therapy program at Texas Woman’s University in 1954 after earning her bachelor of arts in art and psychology from Southern Methodist University in 1952. She was director of the Occupational and Recreational Therapy Department at Baylor University Medical Center for 25 years, and developed and supervised the occupational and recreational therapy programs at Baylor in rehabilitation, adult and adolescent psychiatry, eating disorders and hand splinting. Mrs. Dykes also founded the Boomerang Club, the first support group for stroke patients and their families in Dallas.

Her community service activities have included establishing the annual Fanny B. Vanderkooi Endowed Lectureship for the School of Occupational Therapy at TWU; serving on the board of directors for the Dallas Opera, Theater III, Fort Worth Opera, Dallas-Fort Worth Ballet, Les Femmes du Monde and Dallas Theater Center Guild; serving as president of the Diana Dean Head Injury Guild; and chairing the auxiliary board of the Healing Environment Program at Baylor.

*** *** ***


Information and news about activities, programs or TWU people may be sent to the office of marketing and communication through campus mail, by fax at 8-1-3463 or by e-mail to info@twu.edu. The deadline to receive information is the first and third Tuesday of each month at 5 p.m. for the following publication. Student information for the "People" section is not published unless it is submitted by or in conjunction with a faculty member and that faculty member's related activities.

Carolyn Kacena (library) announced a permanent wall exhibit case has been mounted on the first floor of the library to display current faculty publications including books, articles, notices of electronic editions, art shows, etc. The initial display will include books and materials published since the year 2000. Faculty who would like to have their work placed in the exhibit should contact Dawn Letson at 8-1-3754, dletson@twu.edu.

*** *** ***


Please submit “People” items (faculty and staff only) to the office of marketing and communication by campus mail or by e-mail to info@twu.edu. Include first and last names (no initials, please) and appropriate titles (ie. Dr.)

Dr. Carolyn Bednar (nutrition and food science) has been elected chairperson of the Association of Nutrition Departments and Programs for 2004. ANDP is a national organization that promotes, in cooperation with other educational institutions, government agencies and industry, the common interests of academic departments of nutrition at universities and colleges which offer graduate degree programs in nutrition or postgraduate training programs in nutrition. More than 60 institutions are members of the association.

Dr. Bill Cissell (health studies) recently became a member of the planning committee for the Elements of Success: Adherance to Antiretroviral Therapy Conference, an international conference being held in Richardson during the years 2002-2004. Also, Dr. Cissell, in his capacity as director of the Texas/Oklahoma AIDS Education and Training Center, presided over the Local Performance Site Administrators Meeting and the Training of Trainers Workshop on Prevention with Positives, which were pre-conference events held Dec. 4 prior to the 2003 Elements of Success: Adherance to Antiretroviral Therapy Conference.

*** *** ***

THE NEXT TWO WEEKS AT TWU: Jan. 12-25, 2004

Jan. 12-15

Thur., Jan. 15

Fri., Jan. 16

Sat., Jan. 17

Sun., Jan. 18

Mon., Jan. 19

Jan. 20-22

Thur., Jan. 22

Fri. Jan. 23

Sat., Jan. 24

Sun., Jan. 25

Back Issues