Texas Woman's University, with campuses in Denton, Dallas and Houstonskip to page content

Marketing & Communication


News Releases

Faculty Experts

Media Kit


TWU Brags

Marketing Opportunities

Recruitment Enhancement Programs


TWU Home > Marketing & Communication > next link > next link

TWU Awards Honorary Degree To Dr. Richard Wainerdi


HOUSTON — Texas Woman’s University will present Dr. Richard E. Wainerdi, CEO and chief operating officer of the Texas Medical Center, with an honorary doctor of laws degree during commencement ceremonies, Dec. 19 at 2 p.m. in the George R. Brown Convention Center. TWU has awarded only seven other honorary degrees in its 103-year history.

“It is an honor to recognize Dr. Wainerdi for his long and productive association with teaching, learning and intellectual inquiry and his constant quest for new ideas, new growth and new science,” said TWU Chancellor and President Dr. Ann Stuart. “Houston’s civic leaders, health care professionals and residents are well-aware of Dr. Wainerdi’s extraordinary achievements and his dedication to health care and education. More remarkable is that thousands of people half a world away are as aware of his accomplishments.”

Since taking the top leadership post at the Texas Medical Center in 1984, Dr. Wainerdi has been instrumental in increasing the physical size, patient count, number of employees and students, and research grants at the TMC. In his role as an educator, he spent 20 years at Texas A&M University and founded the university’s Nuclear Science Center, the Activation Analysis Research Laboratory, the German Synfuels Technology Retrieval Program, the Center for Energy and Mineral Resources and a number of other programs, including the university’s College of Medicine. He continues to serve as an adjunct professor at Texas A&M, as well as the Baylor College of Medicine, University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center and University of Texas Houston Health Science Center.

“I am delighted to formally become a part of the Texas Woman's University family,” said Dr. Wainerdi. “The university has established a proud tradition of excellence in the health professions. This is an honor which I will cherish.”

A petroleum engineering graduate of the University of Oklahoma, Dr. Wainerdi also received master’s and doctoral degrees in petroleum and natural gas engineering from Pennsylvania State University. He also is a graduate of the Oak Ridge School of Reactor Technology and the Bronx High School of Science.

Recipients of an honorary degree from TWU must demonstrate genuine achievement in an activity consonant with the university’s mission. Nominations are made by faculty, staff or members of the TWU Board of Regents, and an advisory committee reviews the nominations and makes a recommendation to the chancellor of the university.

Previous recipients are: Nelda C. Stark, honorary doctor of laws degree (1957); Mary Gibbs Jones, honorary doctor of laws degree (1958); Edith Alderman Deen, honorary doctor of letters degree (1959); Lady Bird Johnson, honorary doctor of laws degree (1964); Marcella Perry, honorary doctor of laws degree (1976); Lucile Petry Leone, honorary doctor of laws degree (1979); and Marie M. Clay, honorary doctor of humane letters degree (2003).


For Further Information Contact:

Roy Kron
Director of News and Information
Tel: (940) 898-3456
e-mail: rkron@twu.edu



Page last updated December 3, 2004

Office of Marketing & Communication
1215 Oakland St.
P.O. Box 425410
Denton, TX 76204-5410
Phone: (940) 898-3456 | Fax (940) 898-3463

   TWU Homepage | A-Z Sitemap | Search the TWU site | Accessibility Policy | Privacy Policy

Apply Visit Request information