Marketing and Communication Printer-friendly
A-Z Sitemap

 Back  TWU Home
TWU Quick Links: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
TWU Admissions
Media Kit
News Releases
Faculty Experts
To Your Health
Marketing Opportunities
Pioneer Partners

Sen. Craig Estes To Be TWU Honors Convocation Speaker

DENTON — Texas Sen. Craig Estes will be the keynote speaker at Honors Convocation at Texas Woman's University on April 18. The program will take place at 10 a.m. in the Margo Jones Performance Hall.

During the program, special awards will be presented to outstanding faculty, students and staff.

The Cornaro Award will be presented to a distinguished senior faculty member and the Mary Mason Lyon Award will be presented to a junior faculty member who has fewer than 10 years of university teaching. Faculty awards for Distinction in Teaching, Distinction in Service and Innovation in Academia also will be presented, as well as the Humphries Award for dedication to TWU.

Several student awards will be presented, and the TWU Award of Excellence and two Outstanding Achievement awards will recognize the dedication of TWU staff members. In addition, several student leaders and this year's Distinguished Alumnae will be introduced.

Classes on the Denton campus will be dismissed from 9:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. for Honors Convocation. Most university offices will be closed during that time as well.

Faculty and administrators march in the Honors Convocation procession and wear academic regalia. Student members of honorary organizations may join the procession and sit in the center of the hall, directly behind the faculty. The TWU Board of Regents also has been invited to participate.

Sen. Estes (R-Wichita Falls) is chairman of the board and CEO of Estes Inc., a wholesale distributor of chemicals and fertilizers with outlets across Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana and Arizona. He represents District 30 in the Texas Legislature, which includes Denton.

Sen. Estes' 77th Texas Legislature committee memberships include the intergovernmental relations committee, natural resources committee, the subcommittee on agriculture, nominations committee and veteran affairs and military installations committee.

He graduated from Wichita Falls High School in 1971 and Colorado Mountain College in 1973. He went on to complete his studies at Oral Roberts University, receiving a B.S. in business administration in1977. He also is a 1993 graduate of the Harvard Business School Owner President Manager program.


NOTE TO MEDIA: TWU requests no flash photography during the ceremony.

For Further Information Contact:

Texas Woman's University Office of Marketing and Communication
Tel: (940) 898-3456
FAX: (940) 898-3463