Marketing and Communication Printer-friendly
A-Z Sitemap

 Back  TWU Home
TWU Quick Links: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
TWU Admissions
Media Kit
News Releases
Faculty Experts
To Your Health
Marketing Opportunities
Pioneer Partners
TWU Drama To Present Finian'

TWU Drama To Present Finian's Rainbow


DENTON — Finian's Rainbow, a tale of leprechauns and love set in the Deep South, will be the first musical production of the 2002-2003 season at Texas Woman's University. Performances will be Nov. 8-9 and Nov. 13-16 at 8 p.m., and Nov. 10 at 2 p.m., in Redbud Theatre, located off Bell Avenue just south of University Drive.

Tickets are $12 for adults and $7 for students, senior citizens and children. For ticket reservations and other information, contact the Redbud Theatre box office at (940) 898-2020.

Finian's Rainbow is a collage of wit, romance, Irish tinge and echoes of the Deep South where the world of wants and the world of needs collide to examine the ideology of the American Dream. The musical's tale revolves around Og, a leprechaun who leaves his home in Ireland and travels to Rainbow Valley, an enigmatic town located in the equally enigmatic southern state of Missituckey, to reclaim his pot of gold stolen by Finian McLonergan. While pursuing his treasure, Og falls in love with a dancer, Susan, who is a mute.

Sharon Benge will direct the musical by E.Y. Harburg and Fred Saidy, with lyrics by Harburg and music by Burton Lane.

Cast members include: Ben Derby of Denton as Finian McLonergan; Brooke Evans-Hanna of Denton as Sharon McLonergan; Gypsy Crane of North Richland Hills as Susan Mahoney; Dennis Sloan of Denton as Woody Mahoney; Lorenzo Hernandez of El Paso as Og; Davis Rios of Denton as Senator Rawkins; Jason Oliver of Frisco as Buzz Collins; Jaymes Gregory of Haltom City as Sherriff; Effua Oginga of Denton as Hallie; Jeri Brice of Flower Mound as Hannah; Jennifer Ehrhart of Denton as Diana; Thomas Floyd as Geologist; Marcus Howze of Denton as Black Preacher; Kristin Weber of Bartonville as Mrs. Shears and Brista Hurst as Mrs. Robust. Marcus Howze, Emmer Manning, and Roslyn Robinson have been cast as the Three Gospeleers.

Sharecroppers/chorus members include: Jessica Bates, Alie Bigler, Natalie Bransford, Chris Duncan, Krista Grava, Beja Heifner-Foster, Vanessa Jackson, Cori Jo Long, Anna Perkins, Kari Schouveller, Keri Sternin and Camille Thompson.

Dancers include: Jenny Cicero, Jennifer Cobb, Nicole Fuquay, Rebecca Govea, Valencia Harris, Aisha Jordan of Houston, Leigh Ann Montieth, Dayna Morgan, Ida Monique Rocha, Megan Taylor, Miriam Vera and Jose Zamora.

Crew members include: Travis Ross, stage manager; Scott Fryer, assistant stage manager; Jaymes Gregory, lighting designer; Jerry Dawson, set designer; Dr. Mary Lou Hoyle, costume designer; Pem Medlin, assistant costume designer; Dr. Susan Stewart, music director; Genevieve Durham, choreographer; Amanda Kelts, properties designer and Brendan Dennehey, scenic artist.


For Further Information Contact:

Roy Kron
Director of News and Information
Tel: (940) 898-3456