Marketing and Communication Printer-friendly
A-Z Sitemap

 Back  TWU Home
TWU Quick Links: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
TWU Admissions
Media Kit
News Releases
Faculty Experts
To Your Health
Marketing Opportunities
Pioneer Partners

TWU's Curry Named Fulbright Scholar


DENTON — Dr. Evelyn L. Curry, assistant professor of library and information studies at Texas Woman's University, has been awarded a Fulbright Scholar grant to lecture at the National University of Science and Technology in Bulawayo, Zimbabwe. She will spend 11 months in Zimbabwe beginning in late August.

Dr. Curry will teach undergraduate courses, supervise student research and assist with curriculum development in the newly developing Department of Library and Information Sciences at the National University of Science and Technology.

In 1991 Dr. Curry received a Fulbright Scholar grant to Kenya.

"I enjoyed my time in Kenya so much, I wanted to do another Fulbright," Dr. Curry said. "I'm excited and can't wait to get there.

"This is a fairly new university with a new department. I want to see how they've integrated technology into their program, especially since it's a university of science and technology," she added.

Dr. Curry is one of approximately 800 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad to some 140 countries for the 2002-2003 academic year through the Fulbright Scholar Program. Established in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late Sen. J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, the program's purpose is to build mutual understanding between people of the United States and other countries.

Recipients of Fulbright Scholar awards are selected on the basis of academic achievement and because they have demonstrated extraordinary leadership potential in their fields.

The Fulbright program is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational Affairs.


For further information about the Fulbright Scholar Program, contact July Pehrson, director of external relations, Council for International Exchange of Scholars: (202) 686-4014, or or

For Further Information Contact:

Roy Kron
Director of News and Information
Tel: (940) 898-3456