skip to content

Gov. Perry appoints Christina Wagoner of Carrollton as TWU’s new student regent


Christina Wagoner

Christina Wagoner

Photo credit: Susan Sponsler-Carstarphen

DENTON — Gov. Rick Perry has appointed Christina Wagoner of Carrollton as the new student regent for Texas Woman’s University. She will serve a one-year term expiring May 31, 2012.

“I join the board in welcoming Christina as our new student regent,” said Mike McCullough, chair and presiding officer of the TWU Board of Regents. “I know that she will serve the needs of TWU students well and do an excellent job representing her peers.”

Ms. Wagoner, 20, is a junior English and history major at the TWU Denton campus. A TWU Honors Scholar, she also is pursuing a minor in global studies and already has been accepted to graduate school at Cardiff University in Wales for fall 2012.

“As the student regent, I want all students – traditional, commuter, online and graduate – to have a voice,” Ms. Wagoner said. “I am proud that I can be that representative and ensure that their opinions are heard.”

Ms. Wagoner is the student representative to the executive board of the Great Plains Honor Council, the regional council for collegiate honors programs in Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma and Texas. She also interns in State Sen. Jane Nelson’s District Office in Grapevine. At TWU, she is president of the TWU chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, the national history honor society and vice president of the TWU chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, the international English honor society. She also is a member of the Phi Kappa Phi honor society and the TWU Leadership Institute.

Ms. Wagoner will attend her first board meeting as the TWU student regent June 3 at the TWU T. Boone Pickens Institute of Health Sciences-Dallas Center. She is replacing TWU student regent Sarah Adams of Whitehouse.

In 2005, Gov. Perry signed legislation mandating that each public university board of regents include one student member. Student regents have the same powers and duties as the other members of the board, with the exceptions of voting and being counted to determine a quorum.

Media Contact:

Amanda Simpson
Director of Media Relations

page updated 10/2/2014 11:05 AM