skip to content

TWU Regents approve faculty promotions and tenure


DENTON – The Texas Woman’s University Board of Regents approved promotions and tenure recommendations at its quarterly meeting June 3.

Associate professors Dr. Huanbiao Mo (nutrition/food sciences), Dr. Jane Pemberton (teacher education) and Dr. Claire Sahlin (women’s studies) were promoted to professor. Associate professor Dr. Rae Langford (nursing – Houston) also was promoted to professor and received tenure.

Associate professors Dr. Christian Hart (psychology/philosophy) and Dr. Marilyn Massey Stokes (health studies) were awarded tenure.

Assistant professors Dr. Rhonda Buckley (family sciences), Dr. Kenneth Foster (psychology/philosophy), Dr. Nerissa Gillum (family sciences), Dr. Joni Jensen (music), Dr. Kathy Luedtke-Hoffman (physical therapy – Dallas), Dr. Beth Norris (physical therapy – Dallas) and Dr. Katherine Rose (family sciences) were promoted to associate professor and granted tenure. Assistant professors Dr. Holly Hansen-Thomas (teacher education), Dr. Manal Omary (chemistry/physics), Dr. Noralyn Pickens (occupational therapy – Dallas) and Dr. Kai-li Tsai (health care administration – Houston) also were named an associate professor.

Assistant clinical professors Ms. Deborah Buckingham (occupational therapy – Dallas) and Ms. Tina Fletcher (occupational therapy – Dallas) were promoted to associate clinical professor. Clinical instructors Ms. Rosanna Crackel (nursing – Dallas), Ms. Niki Fogg (nursing – Dallas), Ms. Kristine Morris (nursing – Dallas) and Ms. Grace Yousef (nursing – Dallas) were promoted to assistant clinical professor. Lecturer II Ms. Cynthia Maguire (chemistry/physics) was promoted to senior lecturer.

Several retiring faculty were awarded emeritus status by the Regents. Professor of Nursing Dr. Margaret Beard and Cornaro Professor of Dance Dr. Penelope Hanstein were named Professor Emerita. Professor of English, Speech and Foreign Languages Dr. Hugh Burns and Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders Dr. Alfred White were named Professor Emeritus.

Media Contact:

Amanda Simpson
Director of Media Relations

page updated 10/2/2014 11:05 AM