skip to content

National honor society honors TWU’s Bednar


DENTON — Dr. Carolyn Bednar, Texas Woman’s University professor of nutrition and food sciences, recently received the 2011 National Bachtel Collegiate Advisor Award from the National Council of Phi Upsilon Omicron, a national honor society in family and consumer sciences.

Dr. Bednar was recognized for her work advising the TWU Alpha Alpha Chapter of Phi Upsilon Omicron.

“I enjoy working with the outstanding young people who are members of this honor society,” Dr. Bednar said. “As advisor, I am available to guide and encourage the students in their many activities, and it is gratifying to receive an award for something that you enjoy doing.”

After being recognized by Phi Upsilon Omicron as a 50-year member in 2006, Dr. Bednar decided to reactivate the Alpha Alpha chapter at TWU, which had been dormant since the late 1980s. She enlisted the help of Dr. Joyce Armstrong, associate professor of family studies, and Dr. Shari Dragoo, associate professor of fashion and textiles, in getting the chapter started again. Students in TWU Alpha Alpha must be in the top 35 percent of their class academically and demonstrate leadership potential. In recent years the chapter has participated in a variety community outreach projects at TWU and in the community, including health fairs and providing food items and Christmas gifts for needy families.

Dr. Bednar has taught at TWU for almost 20 years and served as the department chair for nutrition and food sciences from 1997 to 2006. She has held leadership positions in several national and state organizations, including chair of the Association of Nutrition Departments and Programs, director of the Texas Dietetic Association Foundation and president of the North Texas Dietetic Association. She also has received several awards, including the Leader’s Award from the American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences, the Wimpmiller-Guggenheim Award for an outstanding international project from the American Dietetic Association Foundation and the Distinguished Scientist Award from the Texas Dietetic Association.

Founded in 1910 at the University of Minnesota, there currently are 59 different Phi Upsilon Omicron chapters in the United States and one international chapter. The purpose of the honor society is to recognize and encourage academic excellence, develop qualities of professional and personal leadership, provide opportunities for service to the profession and encourage professional and personal commitment to the area of family and consumer sciences. For more information, visit

Media Contact:

Amanda Simpson
Director of Media Relations

page updated 10/2/2014 11:05 AM