skip to content

TWU to recognize students, faculty and staff during Honors Convocation


DENTON — Texas Woman’s University will honor students, faculty and staff in a celebration of excellence during Honors Convocation on Thursday, April 14. Ceremonies begin at 10 a.m. in the Margo Jones Performance Hall, located at Oakland and Sawyer streets on TWU’s Denton campus.

Outstanding Student Awards are based on academic excellence and involvement in extracurricular activities.

Outstanding Senior Awards will be presented to:

• Natalie Kent of The Woodlands, an art major with a concentration in graphic design; and
• Katie Schniebs of Springtown, a mathematics major.

Outstanding Graduate Student Awards will be presented to:

• Elizabeth M. Claffey of Chicago, Ill., a candidate for a master of fine arts degree in photography; and
• Anita Chaillot Broxson of Houston, a fall 2010 doctoral graduate in nursing science.

TWU faculty receiving recognition are:

• Dr. Penelope Hanstein, professor of dance — the Cornaro Award;
• Dr. Manal Rawashdeh-Omary, assistant professor of chemistry and physics, and Dr. Brigitte Vittrup, assistant professor of early childhood development and education — the Mary Mason Lyon Award;
• Dr. Linda Marshall, associate professor of social work — the Humphries Award;
• Dr. Donna J. Sauls, associate professor of nursing — Distinction in Scholarship;
• Dr. O. Jayne Bowman, associate professor of occupational therapy, Houston — Distinction in Service;
• Dr. Mark Hamner, associate professor of mathematics and computer science — Distinction in Teaching;
• Dr. Karen Dunlap, assistant professor of teacher education — Innovation in Academia; and
• Dr. Sally Ford, assistant professor of kinesiology, and Dr. Kimberly Miloch, associate professor of kinesiology — Distinction in Distance Education.

TWU staff members receiving recognition are:

• Tracy Lindsay, assistant director for the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs — TWU Award of Excellence; and
• Heather Davis, senior analyst for the Office of Undergraduate Studies, and Brandie Golleher, program director for the General Studies Program, Outstanding Achievement Awards.

Media Contact:

Karen Garcia
Senior Writer

page updated 10/2/2014 11:05 AM