skip to content

TWU announces 2011 Founders' Award recipients



DENTON — TWU President Emerita Mary Evelyn Blagg Huey and the United Way of Denton County will be honored for their exceptional service to the community and to Texas Woman’s University during the annual TWU Founders’ Awards Scholarship Luncheon.

Reservations are required by Friday, March 25. The event will be held at noon Thursday, April 7 in Hubbard Hall on TWU’s Denton campus. Seats for the luncheon are $35 per person. Patron seats are available for $75. Benefactor tables for eight are available for $750. For information on sponsorship opportunities, contact Patrice Benfield Frisby at (940) 898-3867.

Proceeds from the luncheon benefit the TWU Chancellor’s Endowed Scholarships, the most prestigious scholarships awarded by the university. Established by Chancellor Stuart and other donors in 2000, these scholarships are the largest awarded by TWU, and the only academic scholarships that offer a stipend to recipients in addition to paying tuition and fees. They are awarded to TWU students on the basis of outstanding academic achievement, leadership and service in school and community activities.

The Denton Record-Chronicle and Hester Capital Management, L.L.C. are the presenting sponsors of the TWU Founders’ Awards Scholarship Luncheon. As of March 18, sponsors of the luncheon include: PointBank and Verizon. Table sponsors include TWU Regent Sue S. Bancroft; BBVA Compass; Chancellor and President, TWU; DATCU Credit Union; Bill DeBerry Funeral Directors; City of Denton; Denton Regional Medical Center; First State Bank; First United Bank; Meridian Bank Texas; Bettye B. Myers, Ph.D.; Ramey & King Insurance; Major General Mary L. Saunders, USAF, retired; Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Denton; the TWU College of Nursing; the TWU Former Students Association; and the TWU Foundation.

Judith McFarlane, Dr.PH., TWU Cornaro Professor of Nursing and the Parry Nursing Chair in Health Promotion and Disease Prevention, will serve as the keynote speaker for the luncheon. Her speech is titled, “Empowerment of Women for Global Development: TWU Making a Difference in Karachi, Pakistan.”

Mary Evelyn Blagg Huey, Ph.D.

When Dr. Huey was appointed TWU’s president in 1976, she was the first woman president of TWU and was only the second woman ever to serve as the president of a Texas state university at the time. A university alumna, Dr. Huey served as TWU’s president for 10 years until 1986. She also served as the dean of the TWU Graduate School and a professor of government.

Dr. Huey was awarded the Secretary of Defense Medal for Outstanding Public Service for her contributions as chair of the Defense Advisory Committee on Women in the Services. She received the Outstanding Women of Texas Award from the Texas Division, American Association of University Women, and the Otis Fowler Citizen of the Year Award from the Denton Chamber of Commerce.  Her various areas of service include membership on the Board of Trustees of the National Commission for Cooperative Education and the Governor’s Task Force on Higher Education.

Dr. Huey was responsible for bringing back TWU’s celebration of Founders’ Day in 1978, when she asked the Former Students Association to revive the event.

United Way of Denton County

Since 1951, the United Way of Denton County has worked to advance the common good by focusing on education, income and health. Through the work of its partner agencies, the United Way helps families have financial stability, builds healthy communities and helps children and youth achieve their potential.

The United Way of Denton County has an administrative cost of nine percent of all funds raised for administrative expenses – one of the lowest overhead costs for a non-profit organization in America. The goal of the United Way of Denton County is to maximize and add value to the amount of dollars going to community needs.

The United Way of Denton County offers a resource distribution system highly regarded as an effective and efficient means for allocating funds to provide the greatest impact on community needs and issues.

Founders’ Awards

The first Founders’ Awards were presented in 1998 to honor organizations and individuals who have supported TWU. TWU celebrates Founders’ Day to commemorate the date the university was established by the state of Texas — April 6, 1901. TWU, the TWU Foundation and the TWU Former Students Association host the annual TWU Founders’ Awards Scholarship Luncheon.

Media Contact:

Karen Garcia
Senior Writer

page updated 10/2/2014 11:05 AM