Texas Woman's University, with campuses in Denton, Dallas and Houstonskip to page content

Marketing & Communication

j TWU Home

Marketing and Communication
News Releases
Media Kit
TWU Brags
Marketing Opportunities
Recruitment Enhancement Programs
Media Relations Policy
Banner/Marquee and Photo Release Forms
Power Point & Poster Templates
Graduation Hometown Press Releases
Staff Directory


TWU Home > Marketing & Communication > News Releases


Two TWU students selected for national science scholarship program


TWU NCMR Scholars Rae Lynn McFarlin, left, and Victoria Loveland
Photo credit: Shannon Drawe

DENTON – Texas Woman’s University seniors Victoria Loveland and Rae Lynn McFarlin recently received $10,000 scholarships from the National Consortium of Measurement and Signals Intelligence Research (NCMR) Scholars Program.

They are among 46 students in the nation to receive the scholarships, which are awarded through the National Science Foundation.

Ms. Loveland of Rockwall is a senior biochemistry major and assistant manager of the TWU swimming pool. She is a TWU Honors Scholar, a member of the Athenian Honors Society and volunteers with TWU’s Helping Hands Chapter, Keep Denton Beautiful and Denton’s Friends of the Family Thrift Store. She is the president of the TWU Kappa Epsilon Mu chapter, the student section of the American Chemical Society, and is a member of Iota Sigma Pi, the national honors society for women in chemistry, and Beta Beta Beta, the national biology honors society. She also is a student researcher in the lab of TWU biology professor Dr. Nathanial Mills.

“It is rewarding to know that my hard work over the past three years is being recognized with a national scholarship,” Ms. Loveland said. “The scholarship will help me reach the finish line of graduation in the spring.”

Ms. McFarlin of Bonham is a senior mathematics and chemistry major and the TWU student regent. She is a tutor and student assistant in the TWU Science Learning Resource Center and for the TWU Math and Computer Science Department. She also is a past president and vice president of the TWU chapter of the national mathematics honor society Kappa Mu Epsilon, and is a member of the TWU Honors Scholar Program, the Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society and the TWU Leadership Institute. She recently completed a chemistry research internship at UT Southwestern Medical School.

“I wouldn’t have dreamed it was possible to receive a national award if it weren’t for the support of TWU faculty and staff,” Ms. McFarlin said. “Being at TWU has taught me that the sky is the limit in terms of my possibilities as a student and as a future college professor and researcher.”

The NCMR Scholarship Program supports scholarships and technical exchange initiatives by the Defense Intelligence Agency and the Office of the Director of National Intelligence. For more information, visit www.ncmrscholars.org.



Media Contact:
Amanda Simpson
Director of News and Information
Tel: (940) 898-3456
e-mail: asimpson1@twu.edu

Page last updated September 14, 2009

Office of Marketing & Communication
1215 Oakland St.
P.O. Box 425410
Denton, TX 76204-5410
Phone: (940) 898-3456 | Fax (940) 898-3463

TWU Homepage | A-Z Sitemap | Search the TWU site |  Accessibility Policy | Privacy Policy

Visit Request information