Texas Woman's University, with campuses in Denton, Dallas and Houstonskip to page content

Marketing & Communication

j TWU Home

Marketing and Communication
News Releases
Media Kit
TWU Brags
Marketing Opportunities
Recruitment Enhancement Programs
Media Relations Policy
Banner/Marquee and Photo Release Forms
Power Point & Poster Templates
Graduation Hometown Press Releases
Staff Directory


TWU Home > Marketing & Communication > News Releases


TWU to honor students, faculty and staff at Honors Convocation


DENTON —Texas Woman’s University will honor students, faculty and staff in a celebration of excellence during Honors Convocation on Thursday, April 23.  Ceremonies begin at 10 a.m. in the Margo Jones Performance Hall, located at Oakland and Sawyer streets on TWU’s Denton campus.

Outstanding Senior Awards, which are based on academic excellence and involvement in extracurricular activities, will be given to:

  • Elyze Davis of Dallas — a government-legal studies major;

  • Anne Keithly of Houston — a nursing major;

  • Shawn Saumell of Frisco — a December 2008 photography graduate; and

  • Stephany Soto of El Paso — a bilingual education major.

The collaborative team of Meredith Cook, a dance major from Plano, and Amanda Jackson, a dance major from Dallas, will receive the Pauline Bishop Leman Memorial Award for outstanding artistic achievement.

Outstanding Graduate Student Awards will be presented to:

  • Christine Sinskichott of Rowlett — a December 2008 graduate with a master of occupational therapy degree;

  • Sinju Sundaresan of Kolkata, India — a doctoral candidate in nutrition; and

  • Jane Anderson of Houston — a December 2008 graduate with a doctorate in nursing.

The Graduate Council Award for Exceptional, Original Scholarship will be awarded to Bridget Walsh of Crystal Lake, Penn., a doctoral candidate in child development; and Jutatip Guptarak of Bangkok, Thailand, a doctoral candidate in molecular biology.

TWU faculty receiving recognition are:

  • Dr. Michael J. Wiebe, professor of teacher education — the Cornaro Award;

  • Dr. Debra Mollen, assistant professor of psychology and philosophy, and Dr. Joel Muro, assistant professor of family sciences — the Mary Mason Lyon Award;

  • Dr. Barbara Presnall, professor of history and government — the Humphries Award;

  • Dr. Sandra Cesario, associate professor of nursing, Houston — Distinction in Teaching;

  • Dr. Sharla Snider, associate professor of family sciences — Distinction in Distance Education;

  • Dr. Dojin Ryu, associate professor of nutrition and food sciences — Distinction in Scholarship;

  • Dr. Linda Ladd, professor of family sciences — Innovation in Academia.

Outstanding Staff Achievement Awards will go to Estela Long, manager of compensation and classification for TWU Human Resources, and Karen Long-Trail, coordinator of admissions/financial aid for the TWU Dallas Center.  Cindy Howell, project coordinator for TWU’s Lifelong Learning, will receive the TWU Award of Excellence.



Media Contact:

Karen Garcia
Senior Writer
Tel: (940) 898-3456
e-mail: kgarcia@twu.edu

Page last updated April 10, 2009

Office of Marketing & Communication
1215 Oakland St.
P.O. Box 425410
Denton, TX 76204-5410
Phone: (940) 898-3456 | Fax (940) 898-3463

TWU Homepage | A-Z Sitemap | Search the TWU site |  Accessibility Policy | Privacy Policy

Visit Request information