Texas Woman's University, with campuses in Denton, Dallas and Houstonskip to page content

Marketing & Communication

j TWU Home

Marketing and Communication
News Releases
TWU in the News
Media Kit
TWU Brags
Marketing Opportunities
Recruitment Enhancement Programs
Media Relations Policy
Banner/Marquee and Photo Release Forms
PowerPoint Templates
Poster Templates
Graduation Hometown Press Releases
Staff Directory


TWU Home > Marketing & Communication > News Releases

TWU receives $593,520 National Science Foundation grant for scholarships


From left, TWU S-STEM scholars Sheba John, Nenna Nzeocha, Sarah Prewitt, Cameron Perry, Katie Schniebs and Rae Lynn McFarlin.

DENTON — Texas Woman’s University recently received a $593,520 grant from the National Science Foundation’s (NSF) Scholarships in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (S-STEM) program. The grant, which is distributed over a four-year period, will be used to fund scholarships to TWU undergraduate students majoring in the STEM fields.

This fall TWU awarded the first S-STEM scholarships of $5,000-$10,000 to Sheba John, a biochemistry senior from Carrollton; Rae Lynn McFarlin, a mathematics and chemistry junior from Bonham; Nenna Nzeocha, a biology sophomore from Houston; Cameron Perry, a chemistry senior from Houston; Sarah Prewitt, a biology and mathematics senior from Garland; and Katie Schniebs, a mathematics junior from Springtown.

According to Dr. DiAnna Hynds, the program’s director and TWU assistant professor of biology, the goal of the TWU S-STEM program is to attract students from diverse backgrounds to the STEM fields.

“We want to prepare these students to be successful in their careers, thus meeting the state’s need for skilled professionals in math, science and technology,” she said.

Another goal of the TWU S-STEM program is to introduce TWU students and prospects to careers at the forefront of STEM, such as the developing TWU computational biology program. Adopting the motto “rewarding outstanding scholars – combining pioneering fields,” the TWU S-STEM program is a joint effort involving faculty in the departments of biology and mathematics and computer science.

Dr. Hynds and her fellow S-STEM program co-directors Dr. Brian W. Beck (biology), Dr. Junalyn Navarra-Madsen (mathematics and computer science) and Dr. Marie-Anne Demuynck (mathematics and computer science) administer the program and mentor the S-STEM students to ensure they meet their academic goals. The group meets periodically to discuss classes, research projects and other issues to facilitate a successful academic experience for the students.

For more information about the TWU S-STEM program, visit www.twu.edu/sstem.



Media Contact:

Amanda Simpson
Director of News and Information
Tel: (940) 898-3456
e-mail: asimpson1@twu.edu

Page last updated January 22, 2009

Office of Marketing & Communication
1215 Oakland St.
P.O. Box 425410
Denton, TX 76204-5410
Phone: (940) 898-3456 | Fax (940) 898-3463

TWU Homepage | A-Z Sitemap | Search the TWU site |  Accessibility Policy | Privacy Policy

Visit Request information