Texas Woman's University, with campuses in Denton, Dallas and Houstonskip to page content

Marketing & Communication

j TWU Home

Marketing and Communication
News Releases
TWU in the News
Media Kit
TWU Brags
Marketing Opportunities
Recruitment Enhancement Programs
Media Relations Policy
Banner/Marquee and Photo Release Forms
PowerPoint Templates
Poster Templates
Graduation Hometown Press Releases
Staff Directory


TWU Home > Marketing & Communication > News Releases


TWU to honor students, faculty and staff at Honors Convocation April 24


TWU to recognize students at Honors Convocation — 4/15/08

TWU to recognize faculty at Honors Convocation — 4/15/08

TWU to recognize staff at Honors Convocation — 4/15/08


DENTON— Texas Woman’s University will honor students, faculty and staff in a celebration of excellence during Honors Convocation April 24. Ceremonies begin at 10 a.m. in the Margo Jones Performance Hall, located at Oakland and Sawyer streets on TWU’s Denton campus.
Outstanding Senior Awards, which are based on academic excellence and involvement in extracurricular activities, will be given to:

• Tiffanie Choate of Flower Mound — a business administration major
• Christianne Kellett of Fort Worth — a government/marketing major
• Michelle Savolainen of Coppell — a business administration major and
• Isabelle Sislak of Keller — a nursing major.

Crystal Reyes of Houston, a dance major, will receive the Pauline Bishop Leman Memorial Award for outstanding artistic achievement.
Outstanding Graduate Student Awards will be given to:

• Debbie Arbique of DeSoto— a master’s candidate in nursing
• Terri White of Lewisville — a doctoral candidate in nursing science and
• Joshua Wooten of Denton — a doctoral candidate in exercise physiology.

TWU faculty receiving recognition are:
• Dr. Jim Alexander, professor emeritus of government — the Cornaro Award
• Dr. DiAnna Hynds, assistant professor of biology and Dr. Mark Hamner, associate professor of mathematics and computer science — the Mary Mason Lyon Award
• Dr. Thomas K. Brown, professor of music — the Humphries Award
• Dr. Jeffrey Robb, associate professor of history and government — Distinction in Service
• Ms. Joan Wall, professor of music — Distinction in Teaching
• Dr. Mahesh S. Raisinghani, associate professor of business and economics — Distinction in Scholarship
• Dr. Mary Frances Baxter, associate professor of occupational therapy at TWU’s Houston Center — Distinction in Distance Education.
• Dr. Alfred H. White Jr., professor and chair of communication sciences and disorders — Innovation in Academia and

Recognition also will be given to Dr. Lynda Uphouse, professor of biology, for being TWU’s nominee for the Minnie Stevens Piper Professor Award, which is given to 15 outstanding higher education faculty in the state.

Outstanding Staff Achievement Awards will go to Anne P. Downing, project coordinator for the Multi-Ethnic Biomedical Research Support Program; and Carlos Da Silva, manager of Technology and Information Services, Houston. Charlsa Kern, supervisor of digital printing, will receive the TWU Award of Excellence.

For detailed information on the awards and recipients, visit www.twu.edu.



Media Contact:

Amanda Simpson
Director of News and Information
Tel: (940) 898-3456
e-mail: asimpson1@twu.edu

Page last updated January 22, 2009

Office of Marketing & Communication
1215 Oakland St.
P.O. Box 425410
Denton, TX 76204-5410
Phone: (940) 898-3456 | Fax (940) 898-3463

TWU Homepage | A-Z Sitemap | Search the TWU site |  Accessibility Policy | Privacy Policy

Visit Request information