Texas Woman's University, with campuses in Denton, Dallas and Houstonskip to page content

Marketing & Communication

j TWU Home

Marketing and Communication
News Releases
TWU in the News
Media Kit
TWU Brags
Marketing Opportunities
Recruitment Enhancement Programs
Media Relations Policy
Banner/Marquee and Photo Release Forms
PowerPoint Templates
Poster Templates
Graduation Hometown Press Releases
Staff Directory


TWU Home > Marketing & Communication > News Releases

TWU chosen for new national American Democracy Project initiative


DENTON — The American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) has selected Texas Woman’s University to participate in the American Democracy Project Civic Agency Initiative, a new national program focused on encouraging students to be civic leaders in their communities.

TWU is one of 16 universities in the U.S. and the only university in Texas to be selected for the three-year program, which will begin this fall.

“One of the key duties of a university is to teach the importance of civic engagement to its students,” said TWU Provost Dr. Kay Clayton. “This project provides another opportunity for TWU to encourage students to make ongoing civic contributions to their professions and communities.”

Dr. Katherine Landdeck, TWU associate professor of history, will coordinate the American Democracy Project Civic Agency Initiative at TWU. The university will create an advisory board for the initiative this fall made up of faculty, staff, students and community members.

“Many faculty at TWU already are getting their students involved through various projects, and this new initiative will coordinate and expand those efforts,” Dr. Landdeck said. “Our students will leave TWU not only understanding the importance of civic engagement, but with a strengthened sense of duty and the knowledge of how to make a difference.”

Participants in the American Democracy Project Civic Agency Initiative are: California State University - Sacramento, Castleton State College, Central Connecticut State University, Florida A & M University, Georgia College and State University, Indiana State University, Kentucky State University, Portland State University, San Francisco State University, Texas Woman’s University, University of Central Missouri, University of Maryland Baltimore County, University of Minnesota - Mankato, University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire, Western Carolina University and Western Kentucky University.

For more information, visit www.aascu.org/programs/adp/civic.htm.




Media Contact:
Amanda Simpson
Director of News and Information
Tel: (940) 898-3456
e-mail: asimpson1@twu.edu


Page last updated January 22, 2009

Office of Marketing & Communication
1215 Oakland St.
P.O. Box 425410
Denton, TX 76204-5410
Phone: (940) 898-3456 | Fax (940) 898-3463

TWU Homepage | A-Z Sitemap | Search the TWU site |  Accessibility Policy | Privacy Policy

Visit Request information