Texas Woman's University, with campuses in Denton, Dallas and Houstonskip to page content

Marketing & Communication

j TWU Home

Marketing and Communication
News Releases
TWU in the News
Media Kit
TWU Brags
Marketing Opportunities
Recruitment Enhancement Programs
Media Relations Policy
Banner/Marquee and Photo Release Forms
PowerPoint Templates
Poster Templates
Graduation Hometown Press Releases
Staff Directory


TWU Home > Marketing & Communication > News Releases

TWU Regents approve faculty promotions and tenure


DENTON – The Texas Woman’s University Board of Regents recently approved promotions and tenure recommendations at its quarterly meeting held June 8.

Associate Professors Dr. Marie-Anne Demuynck (mathematics/computer science), Mary Williford-Shade (dance) and Dr. Pam Youngblood (music) were promoted to professor. Dr. Rebecca Krepper, associate professor and associate dean of the TWU Nelda C. Stark College of Nursing in Houston, was promoted to professor. Associate Professors Dr. Connie Ayers (nursing – Houston) and Dr. Jane Pemberton (teacher education) were awarded tenure.

Assistant Professors Dr. Cathy Bailey (nursing – Dallas), Dr. Michael Bergel (biology), Dr. Elaine Jackson (physical therapy – Dallas), Dr. Diane Montgomery (nursing – Houston), Dr. Shannon Rich (psychology/philosophy), Dr. David Rylander (School of Management) and Dr. Donna Sauls (nursing) were promoted to associate professor and received tenure.

Assistant Clinical Professors Carissa Enright (nursing – Dallas) and Ann Medley (physical therapy- Dallas) were promoted to associate clinical professor. Clinical Instructor Joseph Pinson (music) was named an assistant clinical professor.

Pat Devereaux (history/government) and Sherrie Taylor (School of Management) were promoted to senior lecturers. Cynthia Maguire (chemistry/physics) was named a lecturer II.

Several retiring faculty were awarded Emeritus status by the Regents. Dr. Jim Alexander, professor and chair of the government department, and Dr. Stan Ivie, professor of educational administration, were named Professor Emeritus. Dr. Donna Sue Schafer, professor of physical therapy, and Dr. Judy Johnson-Russell, professor of nursing, were named Professor Emerita. Dr. Merry Evenson, associate professor of family sciences, and Dr. Sinah Goode, associate professor of kinesiology, were named Associate Professor Emerita.


For Further Information Contact:

Amanda McKeen Simpson
Director of News and Information
Tel: (940) 898-3456
e-mail: asimpson1@twu.edu

Page last updated January 22, 2009

Office of Marketing & Communication
1215 Oakland St.
P.O. Box 425410
Denton, TX 76204-5410
Phone: (940) 898-3456 | Fax (940) 898-3463

TWU Homepage | A-Z Sitemap | Search the TWU site |  Accessibility Policy | Privacy Policy

Visit Request information