Texas Woman's University, with campuses in Denton, Dallas and Houstonskip to page content

Marketing & Communication

j TWU Home

Marketing and Communication
News Releases
TWU in the News
Media Kit
TWU Brags
Marketing Opportunities
Recruitment Enhancement Programs
Media Relations Policy
Banner/Marquee and Photo Release Forms
PowerPoint Templates
Poster Templates
Graduation Hometown Press Releases
Staff Directory


TWU Home > Marketing & Communication > News Releases

TWU announces Jo Kuhn, PointBank and the National Council of Jewish Women, Greater Dallas Section as 2007 Founders’ Award recipients


DENTON — Ms. Jo Kuhn, PointBank and the National Council of Jewish Women, Greater Dallas Section are the recipients of the 2007 Founders’ Awards presented by Texas Woman's University, the TWU Foundation and the Former Students Association of TWU.

The awards will be presented at a luncheon at 11:30 a.m. Thursday, April 5 in Hubbard Hall on TWU’s Denton campus. Tickets for the event are $25 per person. Patron seats are available for $60. Benefactor tables for eight are available for $500. For information on sponsorship opportunities, contact Patrice Benfield Frisby at (940) 898-3867. Proceeds from the event benefit the TWU Chancellor’s Endowed Scholarship Fund. Reservations are required by Friday, March 30.

With more than 30 years of accomplishments as a TWU athletic administrator, coach and faculty member in kinesiology, Ms. Jo Kuhn of Denton has established herself as an ardent promoter and devoted supporter of TWU women’s athletics. Ms. Kuhn became the director of TWU athletics in 1982, and in 1988, she succeeded in gaining TWU’s admission to the Lone Star Conference — a Division II conference — making the university the only women’s institution in the nation in a coed athletic conference. Under Ms. Kuhn’s leadership, TWU’s athletes began their streak of maintaining a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better, which has lasted for more than 24 years. She also established the Pioneer Scholarship Campaign, which has distributed more than $1 million in athletics scholarships to TWU student athletes since 1984.

She resigned as the TWU athletic director in 1992 to return to teaching and retired from TWU in 1997. TWU Athletics established the Jo Kuhn Leadership Award in 1992, which is presented each spring to a student athlete who has demonstrated outstanding leadership qualities. Ms. Kuhn also was inducted into the TWU Athletics Hall of Fame in 1997.

Ms. Kuhn has received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Association Collegiate Women Athletics Association, a Hall of Fame Award from the National Association of Sport and Physical Education and the Pathfinder Award for Texas from the National Association Girls and Women in Sport.

“Although I have received many awards in my lifetime, this award is particularly meaningful to me because I am being honored by the university I love and where I worked for more than 30 years,” Ms. Kuhn said.

Ms. Kuhn has been a generous philanthropist to TWU through her contributions to the Pioneer Athletics Scholarship Campaign, the TWU Hall of Fame, the Donna Terry Endowment, the Boots Cooper Endowment, the Kitty Winter Magee Endowment, the College of Professional Education, Friends of the Library, the Department of Sociology and the campaign for softball lights. In 1997, she established the Jo Kuhn Endowment Fund for Women’s Athletics to provide scholarships for TWU student athletes.

PointBank — established in 1884 and chartered in 1892 — is the oldest locally owned, full-service bank in Denton County and North Texas. The company has continuously showed its support to TWU by contributing to the university’s scholarship campaign, making enhancements to the TWU athletics competitive environment and encouraging employees to wear maroon and white TWU Pioneers T-shirts in the bank.

The company is an annual member of the TWU Chancellor’s Circle and supports TWU Athletics as a top-level corporate platinum sponsor and contributor to the TWU Pioneer Athletics Scholarship Campaign. Led by CEO Raymond David, Sr., PointBank donated the scoreboards in Kitty Magee Arena, purchased advertising rights to the softball scoreboard and provided protective netting, and is sponsoring the soccer field scoreboard, which will be in use when the new field opens in August.

“PointBank is proud to be associated with the wonderful heritage and pioneering spirit in all that TWU represents, both in the future of its students and its impact in the Denton County community,” said Ray David, Jr., bank president.

For nearly a century, the National Council of Jewish Women, Greater Dallas Section has been at the forefront of social change — championing the needs of women, children and families — while courageously taking a progressive stance on such issues as child welfare, women’s rights and reproductive freedom. NCJW is a volunteer organization, inspired by Jewish values, that works through a program of research, education, advocacy and community service to improve the quality of life for women, children and families and strives to ensure individual rights and freedoms for all.

The NCJW, Greater Dallas Section has supported TWU through the Reba M. Wadel Scholarship Fund for graduate students in family sciences. Since 1990, the scholarship has assisted graduate students in child development or family sciences in their pursuit of scholastic achievement. The non-profit organization has consistently supported TWU for many years by providing funds for this scholarship and other philanthropic endeavors.

“We are very proud to support the efforts of graduate students in the field of early childhood development at TWU through the Reba M. Wadel Scholarship Fund,” said Sue Tilis, president of the NCJW, Greater Dallas Section. “This is one of many community service projects provided by the Greater Dallas Section to improve the quality of life for women, children and families.”

As of Feb. 9, sponsors of the Founders’ Award luncheon include: Bill DeBerry Funeral Directors; BlueCross and BlueShield of Texas; Chancellor and President, TWU; City of Denton; Coca-Cola Bottling Company of North Texas; Compass Bank; DATCU; Denton Record-Chronicle; First State Bank; First United Bank & Trust; NORTHSTAR Bank of Texas; PointBank; Presbyterian Hospital of Denton; Ramey & King Insurance; TWU Former Students Association; the TWU Foundation and Verizon.

Founders’ Day was known as Pancake Night when the Ex-Students Association started it in 1924. When the school was renamed Texas State College for Women in 1936, the event was given its present name.

The first Founders’ Awards were presented in 1998 to honor organizations and individuals who have supported TWU. This year TWU has moved its annual Founders’ Day celebration from February to early April to coincide with the date the university was established by the state of Texas. Legislation was signed on April 6, 1901, forming what is now known as TWU.


For Further Information Contact:

Amanda McKeen Simpson
Director of News and Information
Tel: (940) 898-3456
e-mail: asimpson1@twu.edu

Page last updated January 22, 2009

Office of Marketing & Communication
1215 Oakland St.
P.O. Box 425410
Denton, TX 76204-5410
Phone: (940) 898-3456 | Fax (940) 898-3463

TWU Homepage | A-Z Sitemap | Search the TWU site |  Accessibility Policy | Privacy Policy

Visit Request information