Texas Woman's University, with campuses in Denton, Dallas and Houstonskip to page content

Marketing & Communication

j TWU Home

Marketing and Communication
News Releases
TWU in the News
Media Kit
TWU Brags
Marketing Opportunities
Recruitment Enhancement Programs
Media Relations Policy
Banner/Marquee and Photo Release Forms
PowerPoint Templates
Poster Templates
Graduation Hometown Press Releases
Staff Directory


TWU Home > Marketing & Communication > News Releases

TWU Regents approve faculty promotions and tenure


DENTON — The Texas Woman’s University Board of Regents recently approved promotions and tenure recommendations at its quarterly meeting held June 30.

Associate Professors Dr. Mark Britt (chemistry/physics), Dr. Ellina Grigorieva (mathematics/computer science) and Dr. Young-Hoo Kwon (kinesiology) were awarded tenure. Sharon Benge, director of the TWU drama department, was promoted to professor and received tenure.

Associate Professors Dr. JoAnn Barbour (teacher education), Dr. Chris Beatty (dental hygiene), Dr. Vic Ben-Ezra (kinesiology), Dr. Gayle Hersch (occupational therapy — Houston), Dr. Judy Johnson-Russell (nursing — Dallas), Dr. AnaLouise Keating (women’s studies), Dr. Mahmoud Sadri (sociology), Dr. Stephen Souris (English, speech and foreign languages), Dr. Sally Stabb (psychology/philosophy), Dr. Mary Thompson (physical therapy – Dallas), Dr. James Williams (sociology), Dr. Philip Yang (sociology) and Dr. Deborah Young (fashion and textiles) were promoted to professor.

Associate Clinical Professor Carolyn Ray (dental hygiene) was named a clinical professor, and assistant clinical professors Dr. Johnnie Aven (occupational therapy), Elizabeth Fuentes (nursing — Dallas), Pat Jones (nursing) and Leslie Koberna (dental hygiene) were promoted to associate clinical professors.

Assistant Professors Dr. Lettie Albright (reading), Dr. Mary Bold (family studies), Dr. Sheri Dragoo (fashion and textiles), Dr. Gerald Goodman (healthcare administration – Houston), Dr. Brenda Haile (nursing — Houston), Dr. Mark Hamner (mathematics/computer science), Dr. Junehee Kwon (nutrition and food sciences), Dr. Huanbiao Mo (nutrition and food sciences), Dr. David Nichols (kinesiology), Dr. Yvonne Rodriguez (reading), Dr. Lene Symes (nursing - Houston), Dr. Mark Tengesdal (business/economics) and Dr. S. Sharon Wang (physical therapy – Dallas) were all promoted to the rank of associate professor and awarded tenure. Dr. Diane Gregory, assistant professor of visual arts, also was promoted to associate professor.

Clinical Instructors Robin Abellera, (communication sciences and disorders), Laura Moorer-Cook (communication sciences and disorders), Faisal Aboul-Enein (nursing —Houston), Nancy McMenamy (nursing — Dallas), Rochelle Schultz (nursing — Houston) were named assistant clinical professors. Dr. Lynda Peebles was promoted to a lecturer II in the chemistry and physics department.

Several retiring faculty were given Emeritus status by the Regents. Dr. Charlotte Keefe (education), Dr. Jean Pyfer (kinesiology), Dr. Martha Randeri (English, speech and foreign languages) and Dr. Wayne Zimmerman (mathematics/computer science) were each appointed as Professor Emeritus, and Dr. Jeannette Kernicki (nursing) was named a Clinical Professor Emerita for TWU.


For Further Information Contact:
Amanda Simpson
Director of News and Information
Tel: (940) 898-3456
e-mail: asimpson1@twu.edu

Page last updated January 22, 2009

Office of Marketing & Communication
1215 Oakland St.
P.O. Box 425410
Denton, TX 76204-5410
Phone: (940) 898-3456 | Fax (940) 898-3463

TWU Homepage | A-Z Sitemap | Search the TWU site |  Accessibility Policy | Privacy Policy

Visit Request information