Texas Woman's University, with campuses in Denton, Dallas and Houstonskip to page content

Marketing & Communication

j TWU Home

Marketing and Communication
News Releases
TWU in the News
Media Kit
TWU Brags
Marketing Opportunities
Recruitment Enhancement Programs
Media Relations Policy
Banner/Marquee and Photo Release Forms
PowerPoint Templates
Poster Templates
Graduation Hometown Press Releases
Staff Directory


TWU Home > Marketing & Communication > News Releases

TWU to honor faculty at Honors Convocation


DENTON — Texas Woman’s University will honor its faculty members in a celebration of excellence Thursday, April 21, during Honors Convocation. Ceremonies begin at 10 a.m. in the Margo Jones Performance Hall, located at Oakland and Sawyer streets on TWU’s Denton campus.

The Distinction in Service Award is presented to TWU faculty who are developing distinguished records of service to their component, the university, their professional field of study and/or the community. This award will be presented to Dr. Daniel Miller, professor of psychology.

Miller was founding president of the Texas Association of School Psychologists in 1993 and is the immediate past president of the National Association of School Psychologists. One of his nominators credited Miller’s NASP presidency with increasing the number of applicants to TWU’s programs in school psychology. “Many of our applicants have reported they want to come to TWU because of Dr. Miller’s professionalism and his enthusiasm for the training we provide. With his continued guidance, the TWU School of Psychology programs are well-respected throughout the world.”

The Humphries Award for Dedication to TWU is presented to faculty who have, through their loyalty and actions, proved to be a model to all and a treasure to TWU. The recipient of this award is Lanelle Blanton, professor of music.

Blanton will retire this spring following 36 years at TWU. She has taught hundreds of voice students during her career at TWU, many of whom have gone on to successful careers as professional performers, music educators and music therapists. She has performed regularly on the concert stage, frequently singing her own compositions or musical arrangements. In nominating Blanton for the award, one colleague wrote, “She has demonstrated, through the areas of teaching, mentoring, university service and creative scholarship, that she is a model to all and a TWU treasure.

The Mary Mason Lyon Award is presented to junior faculty members who are developing excellent records of teaching, research and service. Award recipients this year are Dr. David Nichols, assistant professor of kinesiology, and Dr. Shannon Rich, assistant professor of psychology.

As a junior faculty member, Nichols already has a national and international reputation as a scientist in the area of bone health. He is a fellow in the American College of Sports Medicine, and serves on the editorial board for the scientific journal, Medicine and Science and Sports and Exercise. “He is, without a doubt, one of the best prepared, well published and competent individuals I have had the opportunity to work with on a regular basis,” one of his nominators wrote. Nichols also is an avid fan and supporter of TWU’s Athletics Department, volunteering countless hours in helping to officiate and set up equipment for athletic events.

Rich has served as director of the undergraduate psychology program since 2001. “It is a bit unusual for a junior faculty member to take on such a high level of administrative duties,” one of her nominators wrote, “but she has taken on these duties with a professional attitude.” Rich has balanced her duties as director with a heavy teaching load and an active research agenda. “Her students respect her, and she has helped to elevate research to a top priority among the undergraduates in her department,” one colleague wrote. “Her strength and desire to always do her best have inspired students and faculty alike.”

The Cornaro Award recognizes an outstanding faculty member for excellence in teaching, scholarship and achievement. The award is named in honor of Elena Lucrezia Cornaro de la Piscopia, the first woman to receive a doctoral degree (University of Padua, 1678). The 2005 recipient is Dr. Ronald French, professor of kinesiology.
French is a leader in the area of adaptive physical education, and his colleagues give him much of the credit for the international reputation of the university’s APE program. “His scholarship activity is nothing short of phenomenal,” one colleague wrote, citing French’s 21 books, chapters or pamphlets, as well as numerous articles and national and international presentations.

Another colleague wrote that while French’s vita demonstrates his dedication to scholarship excellence, his love is teaching. “He is totally dedicated to quality education and is a true advocate for each and every student in his trust.”
In nominating French for the award, an Alief ISD teacher wrote, “How do you honor a man (who) has changed the face of teaching? Ron has done exactly that. By attending workshops where he presented, I was inspired to live up to his vision of how an APE teacher should be.”


For Further Information Contact:

Karen Treat
Senior Copywriter
Tel: (940) 898-3456
e-mail: ktreat@twu.edu

Page last updated January 22, 2009

Office of Marketing & Communication
1215 Oakland St.
P.O. Box 425410
Denton, TX 76204-5410
Phone: (940) 898-3456 | Fax (940) 898-3463

TWU Homepage | A-Z Sitemap | Search the TWU site |  Accessibility Policy | Privacy Policy

Visit Request information