Texas Woman's University, with campuses in Denton, Dallas and Houstonskip to page content

Marketing & Communication

j TWU Home

Marketing and Communication
News Releases
TWU in the News
Media Kit
TWU Brags
Marketing Opportunities
Recruitment Enhancement Programs
Media Relations Policy
Banner/Marquee and Photo Release Forms
PowerPoint Templates
Poster Templates
Graduation Hometown Press Releases
Staff Directory


TWU Home > Marketing & Communication > News Releases

TWU Announces 2005 Founders' Award Recipients


DENTON — The late Troy and Sarah LaGrone and the Benjamin Lyon Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution are recipients of the 2005 Founders' Award presented by Texas Woman's University, the TWU Foundation and the Former Students Association of TWU.

The awards will be presented at a luncheon at 11:30 a.m. Friday, Feb. 18 in Hubbard Hall. Tickets for the event are $25 per person. Patron seats are available for $60. Benefactor tables for eight are available for $500. Reservations are required by Wednesday, Feb. 9, and may be made by calling the TWU Office of Institutional Development at (940) 898-3863.

Troy LaGrone, retired president of Ben E. Keith Beers, and his wife, Sarah, supported TWU athletic and educational programs for many years. Troy LaGrone also served on the Chancellor's Circle at TWU.

The Benjamin Lyon Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution supplies docents and support for the Texas First Ladies Historic Costume Collection, a collection of inaugural gowns worn by Texas ' first ladies, which is permanently housed at TWU. The university's longstanding relationship with the Daughters of the American Revolution continues through chapter regent Judy Weir, the statewide DAR liaison for the collection and TWU.

Founders' Day was known as Pancake Night when the Ex-Students Association started it in 1924. When the school was renamed Texas State College for Women in 1936, the event was given its present name.

Observance of Founders' Day was discontinued from 1955 until 1978, when former TWU President Mary Evelyn Blagg-Huey asked the National Alumni Association, now the Former Students Association, to assume responsibility for planning the event.

The first Founders' Awards were presented in 1998 to honor organizations and individuals who have supported TWU.


For Further Information Contact:

Karen Treat
Senior Copywriter
Tel: (940) 898-3456
e-mail: ktreat@twu.edu

Page last updated January 22, 2009

Office of Marketing & Communication
1215 Oakland St.
P.O. Box 425410
Denton, TX 76204-5410
Phone: (940) 898-3456 | Fax (940) 898-3463

TWU Homepage | A-Z Sitemap | Search the TWU site |  Accessibility Policy | Privacy Policy

Visit Request information