Student Organizations

TWU School of Management student organizations provide professional growth opportunities and accomplishment for students in business, management and administration - resulting in a more impactful college experience. You'll also want to check out our student events.

AFS (Accounting & Finance Society)

Purpose:  To spread knowledge of how to become a CPA and provide information how to study for the CPA exam.
Faculty Sponsor(s):  Pamela Baker, Ph.D. pbaker1@twu.edu
President: TDB

ALPHA (Association of Latino Professionals for America)

Purpose:  Involvement in ALPHA expands opportunities for students who seek careers in accounting, finance and related business fields. 
Faculty Sponsor(s):  John Nugent DBA jnugent@twu.edu 
President: Stephanie Avila

ENACTUS

Purpose:  Provides students from a variety of backgrounds and interests with opportunities for personal growth and practical experience in free enterprise, entrepreneurship and service learning.

  • Use the power of entrepreneurial action to transform lives and shape a more sustainable world.
  • Develop and execute projects that empower people in need.
  • Encourage high scholastic achievement and professional attitude.
  • Serve as a catalyst for networking with professionals and seeking internships and job opportunities.
  • Free to join.

Faculty Sponsor(s):  David Rylander, Ph.D. drylander@twu.edu 
President: Stephanie Avila

FMA (Financial Management Association)

Purpose:  Provides members with an opportunity to learn about careers within the financial services industry and related fields, as well as professional development through on-campus company presentations. 
Faculty Sponsor(s):  Mark Tengesdal, Ph.D. mtengesdal@twu.edu, Lin Zou, Ph.D. lzou@twu.edu,  Nora Sierra nsierra@twu.edu 
President: Juan Armijo

HBMA (Health and Business Management Association)

Purpose: To further student's knowledge by utilizing mentors and trainings in the areas of business, healthcare and management.
Faculty sponsor(s): Kerry Webb, Ph.D. kwebb@twu.edu 
President: Tyriesha Williams

IMA (Institute of Management Accountants)

Purpose:  Prepare students for a professional career in accounting and finance, as well as networking opportunities. 
Faculty Sponsor(s):  Pamela Baker, Ph.D. pbaker1@twu.edu 
President: Jana Henderson

NABA (National Association of Black Accountants)

nabafw.org

Purpose:  NABA addresses the professional needs of its members and builds leaders that shape the future of accounting, finance and any business related profession with an unfaltering commitment to inspire the same in their successors.
Faculty Sponsor(s):  John Nugent, DBA jnugent@twu.edu, Gilbert Werema, Ph.D. gwerema@twu.edu
President: Lara Fawehinmi

NSLS (National Society of Leadership and Success)

societyleadership.org

Purpose:  Building leaders who make a better world.

  • Scholarships available to graduate students.
  • Building leadership skills.
  • Networking with other students.
  • Letter of recommendations.
  • Community involvement.
  • Onetime registration fee for a lifetime registration.

Faculty Sponsor(s):  Michael Raisinghani, Ph.D. mraisinghani@twu.edu or nsls@twu.edu
President: Haley Mowdy

Pioneer Marketing Student Association

Purpose:   To teach students about marketing as a profession and how it can help them after graduation.
Faculty Sponsor(s):  Jeff Radighieri, Ph.D. jradighieri@twu.edu
President:  Jaclyn Kliman

SHRM (Society for Human Resource Management)

Purpose:  To promote the use of sound and ethical human resource management practices in the profession.  Students interested in human resource management have an opportunity to network and learn from professionals.

Faculty Sponsors: 

Christopher Harris, Ph.D. 
940-898-2728
charris17@twu.edu 

Molly Russ, Ph.D.
940-898-2103
mruss@twu.edu 

President: Amelia Grimes

WACC (World Affairs Council Chapter)

Purpose:  WACC is a non-profit, non-partisan organization that promotes international awareness, understanding and connections through multifaceted programs, as well as educates citizens on crucial issues of international affairs and foreign policy.

  • Discounted membership pricing of $25.00 students annually
  • Invitation to member's only events including HBO premieres
  • Opportunity to participate in the WACC internship program
  • Network with young professionals and distinguished members
  • Including - job opportunities, leadership enhancement, world travel and relationship building

Faculty Sponsor(s):  Michael Raisinghani, Ph.D. mraisinghani@twu.edu
President: Cheryl Hill

Page last updated 3:32 PM, November 17, 2016