skip to content


Senate Activities

See what's happening in the Faculty Senate!

Welcome to the Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate is responsible for shared governance with the TWU Administration in that the Senate recommends academic policies, provides a voice for faculty concerns and issues germane to the Faculty Senate mandate that are pertinent to faculty at the individual, group, or department level.  If you have an issue or concern that you wish to share with the Faculty Senate, please email to contact the Faculty Senate office and the Speaker of the Faculty Senate.

The Senate is comprised of 30 elected Senators who represent the four Colleges and Blagg-Huey Library; each Senator serves a term of two years and may be re-elected for two terms, for a total of six consecutive years of service on the Senate. Following those six years, a faculty member must be off the Senate for at least one year before he/she can be elected to the Senate again.

The Senators serve on eight Standing Committees as follows:  Academic Standards, Academic Freedom and Responsibility, Administrator Evaluation, Budget and Planning, Committee Selection, Constitution and Bylaws, Elections and Faculty Handbook Committee.   The Senate members include a liaison to the Texas Council of Faculty Senates which meets twice a year. 

The Parliamentarian of the Senate is appointed by the Executive Committee in the spring or summer of each year.  The outgoing Speaker serves in an ex-officio status as an advisor to the new Speaker.

Faculty Senate Officers 2016-2017


Jeffrey Robb 


Joel Muro, Secretary

Speaker Pro Tem

Joel Muro


Agatha Beins

Delegate to the
Texas Council of
Faculty Senates:

Ludovic Sourdot, Delegate to the Texas Council of Faculty Senates

Ludovic A. Sourdot


General Sessions
Tentative until Senate approval:

September 9, 2016
October 7, 2016
November 11, 2016
December 2, 2016
January 20, 2017
February 10, 2017
March 10, 2017
April 7, 2017
May 5, 2017

All meetings begin at 10am.
Please check meeting
schedule for locations.

For additional
information, contact:

Misty Chance
Sr. Administrative Assistant
Faculty Senate