skip to content

Grades

Grades

Grades are received and processed by the Registrar’s Office the week after graduation.  Once grades are posted at the end of that week, they will be viewable through your Pioneer Portal under My Info.  Select the Term you would like to view, and click submit. 

Grade Appeals

If you feel there has been an error in your grading, please review the Grade Appeal Policy in the undergraduate or graduate catalog.  Appeals must begin no later than 10 class days after the grade decision is made.

Honors

Honors are based on a student’s cumulative grade point average.

  • 3.9 - 4.00: Summa cum Laude
  • 3.7 - 3.89: Magna cum Laude
  • 3.5 - 3.69: Cum Laude

Honors as they pertain to graduation: students must have earned at least 30 hours of coursework at Texas Woman’s University prior to applying for graduation to be eligible to graduate from Texas Woman's University with the distinction of having honors.

Grades of Incomplete

The grade of Incomplete (I) is given only when a student has passing grades in 2/3 of assigned work, but, because of extenuating circumstances, cannot complete all of the course work by the end of the semester.  Extenuating circumstances include (1) incapacitating illness which prevents a student from attending classes; (2) a death in the immediate family; (3) change in work schedule as required by an employer; or (4) other emergencies deemed appropriate by the instructor.  A grade of Incomplete should not be requested, nor given, for lack of completion of work because of procrastination or dissatisfaction with the grade earned.

Once the appropriate work is completed, the instructor must submit to the Registrar’s Office a completed change of grade form, signed by both the instructor and the chairperson of the department.  If no grade change is submitted within 365 days of the grade of Incomplete being assigned, the default grade indicated above will be applied to the course.

Any exceptions to the regulations listed in the student catalog pertaining to grades of incomplete require the approval of the instructor, department chair and the dean or director of the academic unit in which the course was offered.

Faculty Grading Instructions

Faculty Grading Instructions 

page updated 4/21/2014 3:51 PM

Summer & Fall 2014 Early Registration Dates:

Grade Level/Group

   

Graduate Students, & Priority Registration Groups

April 01

Seniors & Post-Baccalaureates

April 08

Juniors             April 15
Sophomores  April 22
Freshmen April 29

 

State Mandated Immunization Requirement

Effective January 1, 2012, Texas law requires that all new and transfer college students must receive a vaccination or booster against bacterial meningitis.

Students required to have the vaccination or booster will not be able to register for courses until a valid immunization record or exemption document has been provided to the Office of the Registrar or the Office of Admissions Processing 

For more on this requirement, please visit the Meningitis Vaccination page.