Minutes of the Graduate Council Date of Meeting: September 20, 2023

The September 20, 2023 meeting of the Graduate Council was called to order at 1:03 p.m. via Zoom by Dr. Randa Keeley, Chair of the Graduate Council.

Attendance:

Members: Amanda Arnolds, Dana Averitt, Ale Babino, Patricia Bowyer, Lee Brown, Sandra Cesario, Derek Crews, Rigoberto Delgado, Helen Everts, Alyssa Fiss, Jordan Fuchs, Fakeemah Hannah, Gretchen Hoffman, Ruth Johnson, Carolyn Kapinus, Randa Keeley, Mikyoung Lee, June Levitt, Zhen Li, Rebecca Lucero-Jones, Rey Manriquez, Mindy Menn, Aaron Norton, Mindy Patterson, Alondra Rayo-Vasquez, Annette Torres Elias, Mark Tengesdal, and Philip Yang.

Member Substitutes: Cynthia Evetts for Jonathan Olsen, Laura Hanson for Catalina Pislariu, and Kimberly Johnson for Suzanne Sellers.

MINUTES

• The meeting minutes for April 19, 2023, were approved.

ANNOUNCEMENTS AND REPORT BY DR. CAROLYN KAPINUS, DEAN OF THE GRADUATE SCHOOL

Welcome & Charge of Graduate Council –

- Delegate body of the Graduate Faculty with two student representatives
 - o Student representatives have full voting rights
 - o Formulates and approves Graduate School policy
 - o Responsible for reviewing and making recommendations on all matters that affect graduate programs
- Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) expects and looks for evidence faculty are involved in reviewing & recommendation of graduate programs, and provide input into policy
- One of the SACSCOC standards emphasizes that graduate programs are progressively more advanced in academic content than undergraduate programs, and are structured (a) to include knowledge of the literature of the discipline and (b) to ensure engagement in research and/or appropriate professional practice and training.
- We had a very productive last year with approving graduate faculty members, new & revised programs as well as new and revised policies
- Looking forward to another productive year working with you.

Reminders and Updates:

- If you are going to close a program or stop admission to a program, this requires a notification to SACSCOC. If you have any questions about this, reach out to Gray Scott or Mary Rosen. Mary often attends Graduate Council meetings. Closure of a program requires a Texas Higher Education Board (THECB) notification. If you have questions about this, you can always contact me.
- If you are going to change delivery mode, that also requires a SACSCOC or THECB notification.
- Both of these bodies keep an inventory of university programs and delivery modes so we
 absolutely need to go through the proper notification channels or it creates problems with
 our accreditation status.

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board Changes

- The TexasHigher Education Coordinating Board has made changes to the requirements for new program proposals.
- If you are proposing a completely new master's or doctoral program, this requires an advanced planning notification.
- THECB will perform a labor market analysis and provide a pre-approval or denial. This will lengthen the planning time for new program approvals. This information is available on the Program Proposals website:

https://twu.edu/curriculum-strategic-initiatives/curriculum/program-proposals/

Guiding Students through Dissertations

- Zoom session today at 4:00 led by Dr. Debra Mollen (Director, Counseling Psychology Doctoral Program) and Dr. Claudia Pyland (Director, Counseling Psychology Master's Program) will share their approaches to working with dissertating students.
- We will have plenty of time for discussion.
- Contact Danita if you need the link to the zoom or want the recording

ANNOUNCEMENTS AND REPORT BY DR. RUTH JOHNSON, ASSOCIATE DEAN OF THE GRADUATE SCHOOL

- Welcome to 23-24 academic year
- TargetX is up
 - o Trainings
 - o Non-degree seeking
 - o Recommendation form
 - o No Apply Texas after Spring
 - o Create an application.
 - o OnBase
- Workshop for Faculty on Thesis/Dissertation submissions
- Early deadline submissions

SUMMARY REPORTS FROM STANDING COMMITTEES

- o Executive Committee Chair Dr. Randa Keeley & Vice Chair Dr. Mindy Menn
 - Welcome to all members and guests
 - Friendly reminder that voting members will vote and all others should abstain.
- o Research Committee Dr. Patty Bowyer
 - Welcome to both returning and new members.
 - Spring application reviews.
 - New awards will potentially be added.
- o Academic Standards Committee Dr. Lee Brown
 - Looking forward to working with the committee.
- o Academic Programs Committee Dr. June Levitt
 - Welcome
 - There are no new programs to discuss today.
 - Please keep in mind when submitting proposals that the Master's program needs 30 credit hours and the Ph.D. program needs to have 72 credit hours.
- o Membership Committee Dr. Alyssa Fiss
 - Workflow system updates and issues.
 - For application status you can contact me or Danita

NEW BUSINESS

- 1. Membership Committee Dr. Alyssa Fiss
 - Approval of the Membership Committee members recommended by the Executive Committee voted on and approved.
- 2. Graduate Program Review Policy Dr. Carolyn Kapinus
 - Revised policy to comply with THECB updates and streamline process Discussion only, no vote.

OLD BUSINESS

- None
- ADJOURNMENT: 1:58 p.m.