skip to content

Save the Date - Thursday, April 9, 2015

The 2015 Founders' Awards Scholarship Luncheon will be held at Hubbard Hall, Denton Campus.

2014 Award Recipients

Dr. Bettye Myers
Dr. Bettye Myers
Mr. Chuck Carpenter
Mr. Chuck Carpenter

About the Award

The Founders' Award is one of the most prestigious honors presented annually by TWU.†The award is presented jointly by the University, the TWU Foundation and the Former Students Association.†The Foundersí Awards Scholarship Luncheon provides an opportunity to reflect on the history of TWU and on the contributions of those visionaries who set TWU on a solid foundation for success.

Chancellor's Endowed Scholarships

Proceeds from the luncheon benefit the TWU Chancellorís Endowed Scholarships which are the†most prestigious scholarships awarded by the University. Established by Chancellor Stuart and other donors in 2000, these scholarships are the largest awarded by TWU, and the only academic scholarships that offer a stipend to recipients in addition to paying tuition and fees. They are awarded to TWU students on the basis of outstanding academic achievement, leadership and service in school and community activities.

Award Recipient Categories

There are three categories honoring†the long history†of support for the University:

  • Individual or Family
  • Business or Corporation
  • Foundation or Organization


The Founders' Award was established in 1998 to recognize support for the educational mission of TWU. In 2006, Chancellor and President Ann Stuart made the decision to move the celebration to a date in early April to coincide with the date the legislation was signed creating what is now TWU, April 6, 1901.

page last updated 1/22/2015 4:34 PM