skip to content

Spring 2010

Chancellor and President Ann Stuart...

...welcomed TWU Distinguished Alumna Dr. Geraldine “Polly” Bednash, executive director of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing, as the keynote speaker for the Parry Distinguished Nursing Lectureship at the TWU Institute of Health Sciences-Houston Center. Shown with Chancellor Stuart are, from left: Dr. Judith McFarlane, TWU professor of nursing and the Parry Chair in Health Promotion and Disease Prevention; Dr. Karen Lyon, associate dean of the Nelda C. Stark College of Nursing in Houston; recent TWU doctoral nursing graduates Drs. Patricia Lewis, Olinda Johnson and Cheryl Rodgers; Dr. Patricia Holden-Huchton, dean of the TWU College of Nursing; Dr. Bednash; and recent TWU doctoral nursing graduate Dr. Rebecca Schultz.
...attended the American Cancer Society’s You’re Beautiful Style Show and Luncheon in Denton. Shown with Chancellor Stuart are, from left: Sheri deWet, owner of Cartridge World-Denton; Fred Patterson, publisher emeritus of the Denton Record-Chronicle; Gloria McElroy, member of the Robson Ranch Women’s Club; and Sharon Venable, TWU director of community relations.
…celebrated the opening of the new wing of the Ann Stuart Science Complex. Shown with Chancellor Stuart at a reception for faculty, students and staff are, from left: Dr. Shazia Ahmed, biology lab supervisor; Shaumarie Scoggins, biology lab coordinator; Dr. Heather Conrad-Webb, associate professor of biology; Dr. Sarah McIntire, professor and chair of the Department of Biology; Rae Lynn McFarlin, TWU student regent; and Dr. Richard Sheardy, professor and chair of the TWU Department of Chemistry and Physics.
…accepted a miniature wind turbine from Denton Municipal Electric (DME). Some 40 percent of the electricity produced by DME for the Denton campus is wind generated. Shown with Chancellor Stuart are, from left: Dr. Brenda Floyd, TWU vice president of finance and administration; Ward Sheeder, TWU assistant director of plant utilities; and Phil Williams, DME general manager.
...was the featured speaker at the Denton Chamber of Commerce March Membership Luncheon. Shown with Chancellor Stuart are, from left: Stan Morton, president of Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Denton; Chuck Carpenter, president of the Denton Chamber of Commerce; Bette Sherman; Denton Chamber member and chairman of the Denton Animal Shelter Foundation, Inc; and Terry Bussell, Denton Chamber member and owner of the bookkeeping firm It All Adds Up.
…welcomed two acclaimed authors and former Joyce Thompson Lecturers to the Blagg-Huey Library on the Denton Campus. Shown with Chancellor Stuart are, from left: Dr. Phyllis Bridges, TWU Cornaro Professor of English; Jane Roberts Woods, award-winning author of “Flannery’s Last Peacock”; and Joyce Gibson Roach, award-winning author of “The Little Town That Could: Westlake, Texas.”
…attended a luncheon honoring Cheryl Brown Henderson and Linda Brown Thompson, who spoke at TWU during Black History Month. The Brown sisters were part of the landmark school desegregation case “Brown v. Board of Education.” Shown with Chancellor Stuart are, from left: Dana Manning, TWU Student Government Association president; Lulu Helwani, president of the TWU Campus Activities Board; Lindsey Hatter, program coordinator for the TWU Center for Student Development; and Eva Dickey, member of the TWU Campus Activities Board. Seated are, from left: Cheryl Brown Henderson and Linda Brown Thompson.
...congratulated the TWU Gymnastics Team for winning the 2010 Midwest Independent Conference Championships held at TWU. Shown with Chancellor Stuart are, from left: TWU athletics director Chalese Connors and members of the 2010 TWU Gymnastics Team.

page last updated 10/8/2015 3:49 PM