skip to content

Fall 2008

Chancellor and President Dr. Ann Stuart...

…attended a reception honoring Caroline Rose Hunt as the 2009 recipient of the Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award. Shown with Chancellor Stuart are, from left: Roland Dykes, Virginia Chandler Dykes, Caroline Rose Hunt and Alan L. Miller, president of Texas Private Bank, sponsor of the event.
…co-hosted a luncheon with TWU Regent Virginia Chandler Dykes honoring Dallas Black Dance Theatre founder and TWU alumna Ann Williams on receiving an honorary doctorate of philosophy from the university. Shown with Chancellor Stuart are, from left: Regent Tegwin Pulley, Ann Williams, Mrs. Dykes and Harry Crumpacker, chair of the TWU Board of Regents.
…reviewed plans for new patio umbrellas at the TWU Institute of Health Sciences-Houston Center, which will be purchased with funds from the Houston Patio Beautification Campaign. Shown with Chancellor Stuart are, from left: Bill Bussman, TWU Houston campus facility operations manager; Robin Britt, Houston senior development officer; Carolyn Ishee, executive director of institutional development; and Eric Malmberg, Houston campus manager.
…accepted an American Association of University Women of Texas Woman of Distinction Award from TWU faculty who are AAUW Denton branch members. Shown with Chancellor Stuart are, from left: Dr. Sarah McIntire, chair of the TWU Biology Department; Dr. Ling Hwey Jeng, director of TWU’s School of Library and Information Studies; and Dr. Ruth Johnson, associate dean of the TWU Graduate School.
…joined the Board of Regents in congratulating TWU Drama Program Director Sharon Benge, fourth from left, and her students on their recent international performance of “Alice in Wonderland” at the Fringe Festival in Edinburgh, Scotland.
…received a $1 million donation from the Meadows Foundation for the new TWU T. Boone Pickens Institute of Health Sciences-Dallas Center. Shown with Chancellor Stuart are, from left: TWU Dallas Building Campaign Co-chair Sheila Marlow and Meadows Foundation President and CEO Linda Perryman Evans.
…struck a ceremonial gong to open TWU’s “Asia & the Arts” celebration — a monthlong showcase of Asian art, dance and music. Shown with Chancellor Stuart are, from left: Dr. James Chenevert, professor and chair of the TWU music department; Dr. Ann Staton, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences; Dr. Carolyn Gunning, former TWU provost; and Matthew Cumbie, a TWU graduate student in dance.
…viewed the painting “Road Signs” by the late Coreen Spellman, a TWU alumna, at the Dallas Museum of Art during a private showing of original jewelry by the late Velma Davis Dozier, also a TWU alumna and co-founder of the Dallas School of Creative Arts. Shown with Chancellor Stuart are, from left: TWU Regent Virginia Chandler Dykes and Dr. William Rudolph, the Pauline Gill Sullivan Associate Curator of American Art for the DMA.
…served as the keynote speaker for a Denton Kiwanis Club breakfast meeting. Shown with Chancellor Stuart are, from left: Denton Kiwanis Club president Garland Thornton and John Ryan, vice president.

page last updated 10/8/2015 3:49 PM